Perl: CPAN Vs. Ports for FreeBSD

keen-links

Looking for experienced advice. I am new to direct admin. It is my understanding that the perl used in a FreeBSD/DirectAdmin machine is installed from a FreeBSD port/package, while the mod_perl is compiled by the direct admin install and not a port/package from FreeBSD. My question is this: For other perl modules, is it better to use the CPAN module for installing, or to use the FreeBSD ports? With ports, my fear would be that a certain port's dependencies would force a perl/mod_perl even mysql upgrade that would mess up the direct admin install. My gut thought is that once mod_perl has been compiled outside of the ports mechanism, then one should just keep using manual download or CPAN methods. Any experienced thoughts?

Personally I would do it with CPAN since perl is already setup for that by default. A simple command and your done and you don't have to mess with the ports system, trying to keep it uptodate, compatible etc.

I tend to install perl modules from ports if there is a choice, makes admining so much easier when it comes to upgrading perl etc. The only thing I think that will have a dependency for it is apache and if you use the apache from custompache src dir then the ports shouldnt need to call for mod_perl.

One for CPAN, one for ports. While still pondering this issue, I thought I would run my own tests. I set up a FreeBSD system similar to my host. I used:

Perl 5.6.1 from the ports,
Apache 1.3.31 from source,
Mod_perl 1.27 from source.