Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: how to increase phpmyadmin import limit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    486

    how to increase phpmyadmin import limit

    i found out that my server phpmyadmin import limit only (Max: 2,048 KiB)

    may i know how to increase this to 50mb?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,008
    edit php.ini file

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    90
    change as you need, find it this line


    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    ; File Uploads ;
    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

    ; Whether to allow HTTP file uploads.
    file_uploads = On

    ; Temporary directory for HTTP uploaded files (will use system default if not
    ; specified).
    ;upload_tmp_dir =

    ; Maximum allowed size for uploaded files.
    upload_max_filesize = ??M <--- change here ....

    correct me if i wrong ...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    9
    That it`s a global setting of php. I use to upload bigdump.php to server ftp dump of mysql and restore directly via http.


    if you increase file uploads to 50 Mb, this setting will be effective server wide.


    correct me if im wrong
    Host4Ever
    Reinventing support

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Temecula, CA
    Posts
    215
    That's correct, modifications in the php.ini file are server wide. You could also put a .htaccess file in your phpmyadmin directory and modify the parameter just for phpmyadmin.

    example .htacess
    Code:
    php_flag upload_max_filesize "50M"
    php_flag max_execution_time 300
    php_flag memory_limit "64M"
    Note, you may want to modify max_execution_time and memory_limit, because along with larger upload files comes longer page processing and memory usage.

    If server-side modifications aren't a concern, then just change those fields in php.ini as originally suggested.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Temecula, CA
    Posts
    215
    Interestingly enough, I just stumbled across some info tonight after I posted.

    From what i'm reading, php_flag/php_value is specific to mod_php, so if you're using FastCGI, you would need to use htscanner to implement directory level control over php parameters.

    Last option would be to add PHP code to the phpmyadmin config file which sets the ini parameter. The code would look something like this:
    Code:
    ini_set('upload_max_filesize', '50M');
    Safe Mode would prevent that override in the PHP code if it were on.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    162
    Quote Originally Posted by frednoob View Post
    change as you need, find it this line


    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
    ; File Uploads ;
    ;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

    ; Whether to allow HTTP file uploads.
    file_uploads = On

    ; Temporary directory for HTTP uploaded files (will use system default if not
    ; specified).
    ;upload_tmp_dir =

    ; Maximum allowed size for uploaded files.
    upload_max_filesize = ??M <--- change here ....

    correct me if i wrong ...
    We changed that, yet there are no changes in phpmyadmin. It still says 8,192 KB.

    All I did was edit the php.ini file, nothing less, nothing more. phpmyadmin 3.1.2

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,697
    You gotta restart the webserver after editing the php.ini

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    162
    The entire server? I can't just recompible or restart some services?

    Thanks for your answer.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,697
    Type:

    /sbin/service httpd restart

    or use directadmin to restart the http service

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    162
    Excellent, thank you!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    162
    I get this:
    -bash: /sbin/service: No such file or directory

    I restarted httpd through DirectAdmin but no effect, it still says 8,192KB...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,697
    Make sure you are editing the right php.ini file.

    PHP4 configuration file is located here: /usr/local/etc/php4/cgi/php.ini
    PHP5 configuration file is located here: /usr/local/etc/php5/cgi/php.ini
    PHP6 configuration file is located here: /usr/local/etc/php6/cgi/php.ini

    You have debian or freebsd?

    Debian:

    /etc/init.d/httpd restart

    Freebsd:

    /usr/local/etc/rc.d/httpd restart

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    162
    Quote Originally Posted by scsi View Post
    Make sure you are editing the right php.ini file.

    PHP4 configuration file is located here: /usr/local/etc/php4/cgi/php.ini
    PHP5 configuration file is located here: /usr/local/etc/php5/cgi/php.ini
    PHP6 configuration file is located here: /usr/local/etc/php6/cgi/php.ini

    You have debian or freebsd?

    Debian:

    /etc/init.d/httpd restart

    Freebsd:

    /usr/local/etc/rc.d/httpd restart
    There are no directories inside "/usr/local/etc/" and so I coudnt find the "phpX" .

    locate php.ini
    /usr/local/installatron/etc/php.ini
    /usr/local/lib/php.ini
    I use Debian and I used the command you gave me to restart httpd and phpmyadmin still gives me 8MB import limit

    Something is wrong?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    162
    Anyone please?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    8
    I have same problem. php.ini file is modified to -->

    upload_max_filesize = 40M

    Server restarted but it says in phpmyadmin that 8 192 kt

    What should i do?

    EDIT: Problem solved. Find --> post_max_size
    Change it what ever you want.
    Last edited by jantsu78; 04-12-2009 at 11:24 AM.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1

    It's actually the post_max_filesize as well

    Sorry to bump an old thread, but it's at the top of Google, so I'm pretty sure a lot of people are coming here and getting the incorrect info.

    Look for post_max_filesize in your PHP.ini file, then update it to 50M or whatever you need.
    Note that you'll have to set other configs like timeouts etc if you are going to be able to upload a file that big.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Temecula, CA
    Posts
    215
    Quote Originally Posted by readyman View Post
    Sorry to bump an old thread, but it's at the top of Google, so I'm pretty sure a lot of people are coming here and getting the incorrect info.

    Look for post_max_filesize in your PHP.ini file, then update it to 50M or whatever you need.
    Note that you'll have to set other configs like timeouts etc if you are going to be able to upload a file that big.
    Funny, the only incorrect info in this thread is what you posted. There is no post_max_filesize.

    jantsu78 posted the solution you're referring to about 2 1/2 years ago.

    Quote Originally Posted by jantsu78
    EDIT: Problem solved. Find --> post_max_size
    Change it what ever you want.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by sde View Post
    There is no post_max_filesize.
    It's post_max_size, close enough

    I have verified that this works.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1
    post_max_size doesn't appear to be in my config.inc.php file. Do you mean add it?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Increase PHP memory limit for just one account
    By webguy in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-07-2008, 01:33 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-12-2007, 04:25 PM
  3. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-07-2007, 05:44 PM
  4. how do i increase phpmyadmin memory size?
    By jt2377 in forum DirectAdmin General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-16-2006, 02:21 PM
  5. Where do i go to edit the WEBMAIL config.php so i can increase 10mb limit
    By fusioncartoons in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-14-2004, 06:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •