Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Named not responding to requests after update directadmin to 1.420000

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8

    Named not responding to requests after update directadmin to 1.420000

    Hi,

    I had a few directadmin servers, 2 of them update to 1.420000 last night without problem. However the dns service seems to have problem. If I set my PC DNS to that directadmin box, the dns not responding except those domain names hosted at the box.

    What's the problem with the named? I had reload, restart named but not help.
    I stopped to update the directadmin at other servers to prevent this.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,641
    Is the service running? Is port 53 open?

    Named as default dont resolve all domain, just the one hosted.. so if you set you're computer dns to the DA Box.. only the hosted domain will work.. that's absolutly normal...

    So.. what problem are you facing exactly?

    Regards
    SeLLeRoNe - Andrea Iannucci
    DevOps Engineer - System Administrator
    If you need my support write me an E-Mail to Support@CrazyNetwork.it

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8
    Hi SeLLeRoNe,

    The service is running and both TCP and UDP 53 port are listening.
    The situation is after directadmin updated to version 1.420000, the dns query function was gone. It was able to query from my home PC since a few years ago.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,641
    What do you mean for "DNS Query function" ?

    Can you provide your server ip?

    Regards
    SeLLeRoNe - Andrea Iannucci
    DevOps Engineer - System Administrator
    If you need my support write me an E-Mail to Support@CrazyNetwork.it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8
    Hi SeLLeRoNe,

    What I mean "DNS Query function" is if I input the directadmin box server ip address as my computer DNS server ip address , it can only query/resolve those domina names registered in my directadmin box. Other than that, like www.yahoo.com , www.google.com , www.directadmin.com .....etc...are unable to resolve. This is what I see from the Windows DOS prompt ping test result.

    My box ip address is ***.***.***.***. Tks.....I will remove this ip address after your reply.Tks.

    Regards
    Last edited by SeLLeRoNe; 11-12-2012 at 08:02 AM. Reason: IP Hided

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,641
    Ok, can you post here your /etc/named.conf ?

    You can not paste the include zone (latest lines) of your hosted domains.

    Regards
    SeLLeRoNe - Andrea Iannucci
    DevOps Engineer - System Administrator
    If you need my support write me an E-Mail to Support@CrazyNetwork.it

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8
    My named.conf

    // generated by named-bootconf.pl

    options {
    directory "/var/named";
    /*
    * If there is a firewall between you and nameservers you want
    * to talk to, you might need to uncomment the query-source
    * directive below. Previous versions of BIND always asked
    * questions using port 53, but BIND 8.1 uses an unprivileged
    * port by default.
    */
    // query-source address * port 53;

    allow-transfer { none; };
    allow-recursion { localnets; };
    listen-on-v6 { any; };

    };

    //
    // a caching only nameserver config
    //
    controls {
    inet 127.0.0.1 allow { localhost; } keys { rndckey; };
    };
    zone "." IN {
    type hint;
    file "named.ca";
    };

    zone "localhost" IN {
    type master;
    file "localhost.zone";
    allow-update { none; };
    };

    zone "0.0.127.in-addr.arpa" IN {
    type master;
    file "named.local";
    allow-update { none; };
    };

    include "/etc/rndc.key";

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,641
    change
    allow-recursion { localnets; };
    to
    allow-recursion { any; };

    and restart named, this should solve your problem.

    Regards
    SeLLeRoNe - Andrea Iannucci
    DevOps Engineer - System Administrator
    If you need my support write me an E-Mail to Support@CrazyNetwork.it

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8
    yes...it works!! Why the directadmin updated this configuration?
    Many tks!!!SeLLeRoNe

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,641
    I honestly dont know how DA rewrite named.conf on update... it shouldnt usually..

    Allow every ip to recursion on your server will/may cause a huge traffic.. usually is definitly not suggested.

    Regards
    SeLLeRoNe - Andrea Iannucci
    DevOps Engineer - System Administrator
    If you need my support write me an E-Mail to Support@CrazyNetwork.it

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8
    Understand and many tks for your great help!!!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    26,123
    Note that allowing recursion on authoritative nameservers is not recommended and leaves your nameserver open to attack and having your authoritative addresses spoofed. Google for more information.

    Jeff
    +1 951 643-5345
    Third-Party DirectAdmin administration and support
    Dedicated Servers, Dedicated Reseller Accounts
    NoBaloney Internet Services div. Qnito Incorporated
    848 North Rainbow Blvd., Suite #3789
    Las Vegas, NV 89107-1103

Similar Threads

  1. Directadmin :2222 not responding
    By peach in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-24-2009, 07:02 AM
  2. Just run yum update & got named problem
    By hbhb in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-27-2009, 09:36 AM
  3. How to update the Named to new version?
    By Dauser2007 in forum CustomBuild
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-07-2007, 09:03 AM
  4. Installd Nagios, DirectAdmin not responding
    By MortyDot in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-01-2007, 08:17 AM
  5. update named
    By powerdomein in forum Installation / System Requirements
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-10-2006, 07:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •