Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 78

Thread: [rel] AWStats - For all you domains (availiable now)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    280

    [rel] AWStats - For all you domains (availiable now)

    Well, a few months ago i said i would toy with awstats to get it going with DA, this i have done, and have been pretty much successfull. about 10% of domains dont generate pages, i have no idea why... but anyways, its very easy to install, very easy to get running.

    I've tried to take all the pain out of installing awstats, it automaticaly creates config files, runs updates stats, and creates html files! there are 12 steps to install it, it does require use of SSH to install but is dead easy. All commands are provided if you dont know them, you should have no problems!

    Requires:
    - Domains/Logs
    - DirectAdmin (well duh)

    Get it now!
    http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...ease_id=198816

    Demo:
    http://awstats.spinnahost.com/wa-league.com.html
    http://awstats.spinnahost.com/clanmayhem.org.html
    http://awstats.spinnahost.com/spinnahost.com.html
    http://awstats.spinnahost.com/wieisdemol.com.html ( moved to another server )

    Warnings:
    Can take along time to parse logs depending on the amount of domains/log file size. Initial update can take quite a while to do.

    URGENT: IF YOU HAVE THIS RUNNING, DELETE YOUR CRONTAB, RECREATE AS FOLLOWS. IF YOU DONT, YOU MAY TAKE YOU SERVER DOWN.
    minute: 0
    hour: 0
    rest: *
    cmd: php /etc/awstats/domainlist.php


    Changelog:
    0.11 -
    Subdomain's stats are now parsed correctly (no more errors)!
    Last edited by FarCry; 11-22-2003 at 09:27 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    280
    Feel free to download, now fully functional
    Last edited by FarCry; 11-19-2003 at 08:57 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,326
    the very basic commands to get you moving

    # wget http://unc.dl.sourceforge.net/source...ts59-md.tar.gz

    (That download is slow... getting 7kb/s from it.. if you want i will mirror it..)

    # tar -zxvf awstats59-md.tar.gz

    from there use the readme.txt and install.txt

    Chris
    Last edited by ProWebUK; 11-21-2003 at 05:56 AM.
    OptimumServers » Managed Dedicated Servers & General Systems Management » Coming Soon!
    ProWebUK - Quality Web Services
    DirectAdmin Server Checklist

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    280
    actualy if you just goto the link i provided you can get a mirror that is close and fast

    I would not just untar it anywhere as its not extracted to its own self contained directory.

    Hence, here is my idea of how you should download (is pretty much a changed about version of the first steps in the install.txt)

    # mkdir /etc/awstats/
    # mkdir /etc/awstats/data/
    # chmod 777 /etc/awstats/ -R
    (recursive so you get the data dir too)
    # cd /etc/awstats/
    # wget [link address you get at the top of the source forge download page when you choose a mirror]
    # tar xzvf awstats59-md.tar.gz

    open a new shell window, to use when following the install file, then
    # vi install.txt
    (or)
    # pico install.txt
    and then follow instructions from there.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,326
    Originally posted by SpinnaHost-Mark
    actualy if you just goto the link i provided you can get a mirror that is close and fast
    No UK mirrors... and the others were extremely slow, think i might have chose a busy American time
    OptimumServers » Managed Dedicated Servers & General Systems Management » Coming Soon!
    ProWebUK - Quality Web Services
    DirectAdmin Server Checklist

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    61
    ok i have my cron job set
    min *
    hour 0
    the rest *

    command php /etc/awstats/domainlist.php

    and i get

    /bin/sh: php: command not found
    what did i do wrong

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    280
    Login to shell and try
    # php /etc/awstats/domainlist.php


    If this gives the same response:
    try the full php path... (to find see below)
    # which php
    /usr/local/bin/php

    if this fails, make sure php actualy exists there by running it:
    # /usr/local/bin/php

    then just type in:
    <?php echo "hello\n\n"; ?>

    then press ctrl-d to execute it...

    If you get nothing or a command not found you have a few problems....


    if it does exist:

    edit domainlist.php and add the following line as the VERY first line (before <?php even)
    #!/usr/local/bin/php
    (or where php was found with which)

    make it executable:
    # chmod 755 /etc/awstats/domainlist.php


    try it again with the following command:
    # /etc/awstats/domainlist.php

    If this works, then update your cron to be:
    command: /etc/awstats/domainlist.php


    If you get any more problems, create a bug report on the DA Tools sf.net project page: http://www.sf.net/projects/datools/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    61
    well i think i found the problem i set awstats up ad root now when i do i from admin it say permission not allow do i have to start all over again.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    280
    you dont have to start again, just login as root and:

    # chown admin.admin /etc/awstats/ -R
    # chown admin.admin /home/admin/public_html/awstats/ -R
    # chmod 777 /home/admin/public_html/awstats/
    # chmod 777 /etc/awstats/data/

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    152
    Hi,

    I do not have the path /home/admin/public_html/ on my server.
    I have tried setting this up using /home/admin/domains/mydomain.com/public_html/awstats (where mydomain.com is my main admin account) but without success.

    Am I supposed to have /home/admin/public_html/ by default ?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    280
    /home/admin/public_html/ should be a syslink to your /home/admin/domains/domain.com/public_html.

    To create it:
    # cd /home/admin
    # ln -s ./domains/<yourdomain>/public_html public_html

    ln info/syntax/usage can be gained by ln --help

    First section here:
    --
    Usage: ln [OPTION]... TARGET [LINK_NAME]
    or: ln [OPTION]... TARGET... DIRECTORY
    or: ln [OPTION]... --target-directory=DIRECTORY TARGET...
    Create a link to the specified TARGET with optional LINK_NAME.
    If LINK_NAME is omitted, a link with the same basename as the TARGET is
    created in the current directory. When using the second form with more
    than one TARGET, the last argument must be a directory; create links
    in DIRECTORY to each TARGET. Create hard links by default, symbolic
    links with --symbolic. When creating hard links, each TARGET must exist.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    61
    [admin@215 admin]$ chown admin.admin /etc/awstats/ -R
    [admin@215 admin]$ chown admin.admin /home/admin/public_html/awstats/ -R
    [admin@215 admin]$ chmod 777 /home/admin/public_html/awstats/
    [admin@215 admin]$ chmod 777 /etc/awstats/data/
    [admin@215 admin]$ /etc/awstats/domainlist.php
    bash: /etc/awstats/domainlist.php: Permission denied

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    280
    Try this:

    [root@localhost /]# chown admin.admin /home/admin/public_html/awstats/ -R
    [root@localhost /]# chown admin.admin /etc/awstats/ -R
    [root@localhost /]# chmod 777 /etc/awstats/data/ -R
    [root@localhost /]# chmod 777 /home/admin/public_html/awstats/
    [root@localhost /]# chmod +w /home/admin/public_html/awstats/*
    [root@localhost /]# exit
    [admin@localhost /]$ cd /etc/awstats/
    [admin@localhost awstats]$ chmod +x domainlist.php
    [admin@localhost awstats]$ php domainlist.php
    ... and away it goes ...


    And keep using "php /etc/awstats/domainlist.php" as the cron command, if all works well.
    Last edited by FarCry; 11-22-2003 at 08:28 AM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    152
    OK, sysmlink created but......

    php domainlist.php runs OK for me but does not output anything to /home/admin/public_html/awstats (chmod 777) All I have there are the original files untarred from html.tar.gz

    My config file looks like

    <?php
    $loglocation = '/var/log/httpd';
    $outputlocation = '/home/admin/public_html/awstats';
    ?>

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    280
    are you getting any output from the program when you run it via command line?

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    152
    it runs for about 2 seconds, (about 15 domains on this server) and does not give any output on command line but does create files in /etc/awstats/ for each domain

    awstas.domain.com.conf

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    280
    strange,

    try
    # chmod +w /home/admin/public_html/awstats -R

    OR

    just change your config file to be the "full" path to the domain.
    eg: /home/admin/domains/spinnahost.com/public_html/awstats

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    152
    tried both, still the same result....

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    280
    hmm, not good.

    just try the chmod again... this time as root?

    # chmod 777 /home/admin/public_html/awstats

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    152
    nope, still not working.....

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. transfer old Awstats stats plug in to new Directadmin's featured Awstats
    By faberrimo in forum DirectAdmin General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-27-2010, 02:45 AM
  2. How to manage Awstats with specific domains
    By nicsopon in forum How-To Guides
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-01-2010, 09:55 AM
  3. AWStats - enable for specific domains / clients
    By moja in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-04-2010, 08:36 AM
  4. Disable awstats generation for domains
    By Illarane in forum User-Level Difficulties
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-15-2009, 02:23 PM
  5. AWstats, include alias domains in statistics
    By elvandar in forum Feedback & Feature Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-21-2008, 01:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •