DA Multi Server Question(s)

mattnbrown

Hi,

I hope i have chosen the correct section for this...

Basically I am not too clear on if direct admin will support multi servers in quite the same way as something like helm (which is what i use on a 10 server web farm).

I would like to have something like:

Server1 - DA
Server2&3 - DNS
Server4 - Web
etc... etc...

Is this relatively easily done with DA and is just a single license required for the main DA control server?

Sorry if i dont make too much sense, i am new to DA :)

Any help would be very much greatfully recieved!

Thanks,
Matt.

It has been a while since I did any searching for this topic but there is some info here on it.

Unless I missed something the answer is no it will not function in a cluster like it seems you are talking. You can use multiple DNS servers but it is not like hsphere where it is made to have servers dedicated to one task.

DamnSkippy is correct; DA is not a true multiple-user solution as are Helm and H-Sphere.

Jeff

DirectAdmin will support remote DNS servers, as well as a remote (well technically it should be fairly 'local'), i.e. on a different box MySQL server. You can *probably* get something similar setup for mail, but I'm sure DA wouldn't support it.

I have a question too. I'm not sure if I understood what this DA Multiserver does...

What are the advantages of using it?

Just preventing users to add duplicated domains?

Does it mean I can always give my users ns1.server1.com and ns2.server1.com and their sites will work even if they're on server2.com?

DirectAdmin's Multi Server Setup only handles DNS between multiple servers; nothing else.