Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 127

Thread: Domain Monitoring Tool

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,471

    Domain Monitoring Tool

    This tool is designed to monitor domains via the server-status Apache 1.xx feature. The tool can monitor both domain load and the number of processes per domain.

    NOTE: This tool does not work with Apache 2. You may wish to check out mod_throttle (Apache 1) or mod_cband (Apache 2) as replacements for this tool.

    Once a domain reaches certain specified limits, you can opt to warn and suspend users.

    Prior to running this script, please run 'table.sql' AND modify each file in the 'conf' directory to your preference. See the included INSTALL file for details.

    Download v1.0 here.
    Last updated 2003-1-9 at 9:28 PM EST

    Have fun, Phi1.
    Last edited by l0rdphi1; 08-08-2007 at 08:53 AM.
    Installatron Plugin is a native DirectAdmin plugin that provides you and your customers an intuitive interface to install, manage, upgrade, and backup/restore a premier collection of the best applications on the web, all instantly at the click of a button.

    Also: cPanel-to-DA converterBulk Domains and Sub-domain PluginDA User Tool

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,326
    Added to the DA server checklist
    OptimumServers » Managed Dedicated Servers & General Systems Management » Coming Soon!
    ProWebUK - Quality Web Services
    DirectAdmin Server Checklist

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    415
    Looking good!

    I'm going to set this up and test it for a while.

    I do have a suggestion though, perhaps you can add a client interface that enables you to view the loads. I know it's possible to take a look at them using phpmyadmin and going through the database yourself, but perhaps this will be a nice feature to display the stats.

    regards

    Robert

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    415
    http://www.directadmin.com/forum/sho...&threadid=1667

    Isn't this kinda the same? You can limit the amount of requests / download speed it has. It won't let you monitor cpu usage that's true, but it will help you with a lot of apache overloading issues.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,326
    Never realised it was request throttling also.... mod_throttle is basically limit your bandwidth by X xbps - would be useful to offer unmetered connections

    Never looked at it into to much detail or to be honest, used it although if your interested i'l get a copy on a test server and get playin with it

    Chris
    OptimumServers » Managed Dedicated Servers & General Systems Management » Coming Soon!
    ProWebUK - Quality Web Services
    DirectAdmin Server Checklist

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    415
    Originally posted by ProWebUK
    Never realised it was request throttling also.... mod_throttle is basically limit your bandwidth by X xbps - would be useful to offer unmetered connections
    Not only that, it can be used to limit the actual number of apache processes as well. This way you could prevent a certain vhost from overloading apache, which is in essence the same thing we're trying to accomplish measuring cpu process time.

    But please do start playing around with mod_throttle, who knows we might put it to good use

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,471
    Yeah, I'm going to play with it too ..although I don't see how it can monitor load
    Installatron Plugin is a native DirectAdmin plugin that provides you and your customers an intuitive interface to install, manage, upgrade, and backup/restore a premier collection of the best applications on the web, all instantly at the click of a button.

    Also: cPanel-to-DA converterBulk Domains and Sub-domain PluginDA User Tool

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,326
    I dont think it does, rather processes and bandwidth

    Chris
    OptimumServers » Managed Dedicated Servers & General Systems Management » Coming Soon!
    ProWebUK - Quality Web Services
    DirectAdmin Server Checklist

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,471
    Yes, that's what I meant.
    Installatron Plugin is a native DirectAdmin plugin that provides you and your customers an intuitive interface to install, manage, upgrade, and backup/restore a premier collection of the best applications on the web, all instantly at the click of a button.

    Also: cPanel-to-DA converterBulk Domains and Sub-domain PluginDA User Tool

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4
    Installed this today and it looks very cool. I was wondering if it can also email me to let me know a warning notice was sent, or if it's even possible to email me instead of the customer so I can contact them myself.

    Thanks!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    81
    On a normal DA install on a Red Hat 9.0... What is the path to PHP?
    Josh Richard

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,471
    Originally posted by AtomicRax
    On a normal DA install on a Red Hat 9.0... What is the path to PHP?
    /usr/local/bin/php for me
    Installatron Plugin is a native DirectAdmin plugin that provides you and your customers an intuitive interface to install, manage, upgrade, and backup/restore a premier collection of the best applications on the web, all instantly at the click of a button.

    Also: cPanel-to-DA converterBulk Domains and Sub-domain PluginDA User Tool

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    81
    Ok, as far as I know, I set up the script right. I've checked all passwords and stuff. I run the script and it says "Table Updated" How ever, when I view the table, it doesn't show any records.

    Any ideas?
    Josh Richard

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    81
    All my information, as far as I know, is correct and the script is not inserting the information into the db.

    And what should $__url_source be? I put it as the url to monitor.php I tried it with just the folder, but it didn't work.
    Josh Richard

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,471
    The source URL should be set to the location of your server-status monitor. See INSTALL.

    Mine is set as:
    $__url_source = 'http://server1.liquenox.net/serverstatus';
    Installatron Plugin is a native DirectAdmin plugin that provides you and your customers an intuitive interface to install, manage, upgrade, and backup/restore a premier collection of the best applications on the web, all instantly at the click of a button.

    Also: cPanel-to-DA converterBulk Domains and Sub-domain PluginDA User Tool

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    139
    Originally posted by l0rdphi1
    The source URL should be set to the location of your server-status monitor. See INSTALL.

    Mine is set as:
    $__url_source = 'http://server1.liquenox.net/serverstatus';
    i get an error when i go to http://www.mydomain.com/cpu/


    Warning: file_get_contents(http://www.mydomain.com/cpu/): failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 403 Forbidden in /home/ministry/domains/mydomain.com/public_html/cpu/monitor.php on line 23
    Table updated.

    my httpd.conf:

    #
    ExtendedStatus On
    <Location /home/username/domains/mydomain.com/public_html/cpu>
    SetHandler server-status
    </Location>

    what's wrong?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    139
    Originally posted by etegration
    i get an error when i go to http://www.mydomain.com/cpu/


    Warning: file_get_contents(http://www.mydomain.com/cpu/): failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 403 Forbidden in /home/ministry/domains/mydomain.com/public_html/cpu/monitor.php on line 23
    Table updated.

    my httpd.conf:

    #
    ExtendedStatus On
    <Location /home/username/domains/mydomain.com/public_html/cpu>
    SetHandler server-status
    </Location>

    what's wrong?

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,471
    In my httpd.conf, I added:
    Code:
    ExtendedStatus On
    <Location /serverstatus>
        SetHandler server-status
    </Location>
    Give that a shot.
    Installatron Plugin is a native DirectAdmin plugin that provides you and your customers an intuitive interface to install, manage, upgrade, and backup/restore a premier collection of the best applications on the web, all instantly at the click of a button.

    Also: cPanel-to-DA converterBulk Domains and Sub-domain PluginDA User Tool

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    392
    Originally posted by l0rdphi1
    In my httpd.conf, I added:
    Code:
    ExtendedStatus On
    <Location /serverstatus>
        SetHandler server-status
    </Location>
    Give that a shot.

    actually there is already "ExtendedStatus On", we just comment it out and add
    Code:
    <Location /serverstatus>
        SetHandler server-status
    </Location>
    is it? and is there any live example to show?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    4,111
    I didn't work for me either.
    It says table updated but nothing has happened.

    I did some trouble shooting and have narrowed it down a bit. The script does not add new domains as it finds them to the database. Once I had manually input a couple of domains the monitoring worked but only for those domains that I had entered.

    I haven't looked into a fix yet, hopefully l0rdphi1 will get to it before I do.

    Then again it may just be my server, I've had these weird quirks before on this setup.
    Last edited by jmstacey; 06-18-2004 at 11:23 PM.
    Just do what it takes to make it happen

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Bandwith monitoring per user/domain
    By sky in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-13-2010, 11:51 PM
  2. Monitoring load per domain
    By lukeyport in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-12-2009, 09:13 AM
  3. Monitoring server load by domain - suggestions?
    By cbooth7575 in forum Apache (WWW)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-22-2009, 03:21 AM
  4. My.cnf tool
    By wattie in forum Feedback & Feature Requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-04-2008, 12:44 AM
  5. monitor tool
    By kelvinchan in forum 3rd Party Software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-03-2005, 02:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •