sys Backup Best Practice

Mark_S

Verified User
Hi,
i'm using Direct Admin 1.29.2

Ive been browsing around these forums looking for the best way to Back up in post recovery from a crash or failure. And alot of the guides and help are out of date (The ones i could find).

I'm new to how things work inside Direct Admin and put alot of faith in the point and click to do things, but i'm now becoming increasingly worried about "What if" ? And what Solutions are available.

SYSBACKUP - (Admin)
If i could ask a few Questions about system backup as admin, what i should be doing.

The Config screen has the following options I need advice with.

1. Add user home directories to directory list below?
Would enabling that option effectively backing up everthing? Users and there Domains and Files and Settings?
2. Backup Directories and Files listed below?

These are the files that are in the list but i do not have selected.
Should these be included everytime i run a sysback up?

Directories
/etc/mail
/etc/virtual
/home/admin
/usr/lib/apache
/usr/local
/usr/local/directadmin/data
/usr/local/frontpage
/usr/share/ssl
/var/log
/var/mail
/var/named
/var/spool/cron
/var/spool/mail
/var/spool/virtual
/var/www

Files
/etc/exim.cert
/etc/exim.conf
/etc/exim.key
/etc/exim.pl
/etc/group
/etc/gshadow
/etc/hosts
/etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf
/etc/httpd/conf/ips.conf
/etc/named.conf
/etc/passwd
/etc/proftpd.conf
/etc/proftpd.passwd
/etc/proftpd.vhosts.conf
/etc/resolv.conf
/etc/shadow
/etc/ssh/sshd_config
/etc/system_filter.exim
/usr/local/directadmin/conf/mysql.conf

I just want to have the right back up in case of a crash or hard drive failure and have some peice of mind that i have what i need to attempt a restore.

You experience and advice would be very much appreciated.

Thanks

1. Add user home directories to directory list below?
Would enabling that option effectively backing up everthing? Users and there Domains and Files and Settings?