Guide for Beginners

survice

Verified User
I am very new to DA. I am trying to understand the sequence of events to follow in order to get my server up and running with my domain.

I have tried viewing other discussions about this topic but they seem a bit all over the place.

These are the questions that i have in mind:

Before even touching DA, i go to the company that has my domain registered and i have inputed the nameserver of my server. Do i put my primary ip in the IP boxes of the NS or do i put the new ips that i have created (192.168.0.1).

Is there a guide i can read on how to set a "brand new" setup of DA ?

Using an ip like 192.168.0.1 is not going to help you any since its not public. You cannot just make up ip addresses. You have to use the ones your data center gave you.

Also you cannot just make up nameserver names either. They have to be based on one of your domains. You have to create nameserver records at the registrar. After you create the nameserver records then you can point domains to them.

Floyd,

Is there a guide or anything i can read on how to set up things properly from the moment that i get a dedicated server from the company ?

Not that I know of. Setting up DirectAdmin is supposed to be for experienced administrators. Beginners should not be setting up DirectAdmin at least not for production use. Why? Because what if something goes wrong? How is a beginner going to fix it as you have found out?

As you have indicated in your post you are not an experienced administrator. You do not even know how the internet works yet. You need a guide on how the internet works. Then setting up DirectAdmin will be clear to you.

I personally like howstuffworks.com. Learn about the internet, DNS, webservers.

Floyd, if i can explain to you a bit what is the situation.

I do understand how DNS work but not not 100% when it comes to nameservers.

Just to begin: