Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: php 4.3.8

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    1,148

    php 4.3.8

    Looks like php 4 has been updated as well, due to a few security issues.
    http://www.php.net/release_4_3_8.php

  2. #2
    Wow, they sure have a high turnover I'll update the customapache build script now.

    John

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    392
    well, i updated to 4.3.8, and httpd failed to start, here is the error quote

    [Wed Jul 21 14:41:00 2004] [error] Cannot remove module mod_security.c: not found in module list
    PHP Warning: [Turck MMCache] This build of "Turck MMCache" was compiled for PHP version 4.3.7. Rebuild it for your PHP version (4.$
    in Unknown on line 0
    i can see it's MMCache problem, but i also recompiled MMCache after seeing that error, but it didn't help.

    in the end, i had to roll back to 4.3.7 and httpd resumed normal operation.

    any idea? thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    1,148
    Did you remember to run the phpize command before recompiling MMCache?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    4,111
    Yes, you must do complete recompile following the instructions. You can always comment out the lines in the php.ini file until you get it working properly that way at least httpd is online.
    Just do what it takes to make it happen

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    392
    of course i did run phpize, i've installed MMCache quite a number of times, so i'm sure my installation was okay.

    i remember i had the same problem when upgarde 4.3.6 to 4.3.7, it's the same MMCache problem, but i was unable to bring back httpd even after rolled back to 4.3.6. i gave up that server in the end.

    i think MMCache really makes trouble sometimes.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    4,111
    When you updated php it moved the php.ini file back to its original location. After updating php, reinstall zend using customapache so the php.ini is back in the Zend directory and then finally reinstall turck mmcache. This is because turck mmcache is probably installed as a zend extension and not as a php extension. As such you must also make sure you have zend upto data and installed correctly.
    Just do what it takes to make it happen

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    392
    many thanks, i will remember what you told.

    i lost quite a few hundred dollars USD due to last time my server failure, i think after i've read this, the same problem will never happen again.

    i'm heading to upgrade my php later tonight, let's see if i can make it

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    392
    Originally posted by jmstacey
    When you updated php it moved the php.ini file back to its original location. After updating php, reinstall zend using customapache so the php.ini is back in the Zend directory and then finally reinstall turck mmcache. This is because turck mmcache is probably installed as a zend extension and not as a php extension. As such you must also make sure you have zend upto data and installed correctly.
    btw, according to what you are saying, php.ini back to its original location after update, then if i roll back my php, the php.ini will also roll back to the Zend directory automatically?

    anyway, when i rolled back my php, everything backed to normal.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    4,111
    I'm not sure about that. All I know is that if I update php without also reinstalling zend it won't work because the update puts the installation back in the original location whereas when you install zend with ./build zend it puts the php.ini file back in the Zend directory.
    Just do what it takes to make it happen

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    392
    erm...maybe i should wait until DA support has comfirmed this issue...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    392
    here is the reply i've got

    Hello,

    There is a check in the script that prevents it from overwriting the older php.ini if it exists. You could always just make a backup of the file before you update and restore it after if it is no longer there.

    Thank you,

    John
    so, would it be okay if i set php updating not to update my php.ini location?

    i don't want to try my server until it's comfirmed by someone else whose server also installed MMCache and Zend.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    TeleCity 2, Amsterdam
    Posts
    45
    How do I use the build-script to update to php 4.3.8?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,471
    DennisCitus,

    This should do it:
    Code:
    cd /usr/local/directadmin/customapache
    ./build clean
    rm -f configure.php
    ./build update
    ./build php
    Phi1.
    Installatron Plugin is a native DirectAdmin plugin that provides you and your customers an intuitive interface to install, manage, upgrade, and backup/restore a premier collection of the best applications on the web, all instantly at the click of a button.

    Also: cPanel-to-DA converterBulk Domains and Sub-domain PluginDA User Tool

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    102
    Originally posted by DennisCitus
    How do I use the build-script to update to php 4.3.8?
    cd /usr/local/directadmin/customapache
    ./build clean
    ./build update
    ./build php or ./build all

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    163
    Just to let you know,

    I succesfully upgraded to PHP 4.3.8 on two machines.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    250
    (FreeBSD 5.x)

    Zend is not working after upgrading php..

    This is what I've done:

    cd /usr/local/directadmin/customapache
    ./build clean
    ./build update
    ./build all
    ./build zend

    Now my zend encoded application is not working anymore. Also the httpd child process is exiting when calling the zend encoded file from the browser:

    siteserver kernel: pid 878 (httpd), uid 1003: exited on signal 11

    html and php pages render without any problems..

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    217
    Originally posted by rhoekman
    (FreeBSD 5.x)

    Zend is not working after upgrading php..

    This is what I've done:

    cd /usr/local/directadmin/customapache
    ./build clean
    ./build update
    ./build all
    ./build zend

    Now my zend encoded application is not working anymore. Also the httpd child process is exiting when calling the zend encoded file from the browser:

    siteserver kernel: pid 878 (httpd), uid 1003: exited on signal 11

    html and php pages render without any problems..
    Which version are you uprading from? PHP that is...

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    250
    Thanks for the reply.. I've just got it working.. I've deleted any config files that where still present in the build directory and repeated the steps I mentioned in my earlier post. (version of php was 4.3.7 I think I suffer from short term memory loss I guess..)
    Last edited by rhoekman; 07-30-2004 at 04:17 PM.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    neherlands
    Posts
    8

    upgrade 4.3.7 to 4.3.8

    I do not have a custom built apache system jet, and 'm running 4.3.7 with all the modules i need.

    Can i upgrade to 4.3.8 with just:

    cd /usr/local/directadmin/customapache
    ./build clean
    ./build update
    ./build php

    (redhat 9 o.s)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •