Dedicated Server Providers

rumrugby

Verified User
Hi everyone,

I am looking to rent a couple of unmanaged dedicated servers geographically place around the world. I currently run 3 servers in Sydney, Australia. I am looking to rent a server in the US and another location to cover whatever distance i am missing. Therefore i can give customers the option to select shared hosting on a server geographically closest to them (on the assumption that most of their hits are from that part of the world). Also be good to use as a backup server when my network is down. I am now looking at which dedicated server provider to choose. I have no experience with these companies as my servers in Sydney are located in my server rack in my office.

Why are some dedicated server providers cheaper than others??? Why can server4you of servers at $49 a month with everything while ev1 servers only offer a basic server at $99 a month? The network connection at server4you seems pretty fast.

Does anyone have any experience with these various providers??

What do i look for in a dedicated server company???

Thanks everyone!

server4you didn't look that good at all. The server at $49 a month isn't much of a server. I spend $59 a month and get twice the server. Looks like ev1servers at $99 wasn't much of a server either. I'd suggest you keep looking.

rumrugby said:
Why are some dedicated server providers cheaper than others??? Why can server4you of servers at $49 a month with everything while ev1 servers only offer a basic server at $99 a month?
If we presume that all companies in the dedicated server business are run professionally, then we must presume that:

(a) they're all in business to at least cover their costs.

(b) they all know what their costs are.

So we must assume that they charge different prices because they have different costs.