Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: SVN in subdomain

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5

    SVN in subdomain

    Hello.
    I'm trying to make svn working in subdomain. I'm using DirectAdmin/Ubuntu

    I've made it as it was described by user tillo

    Quote Originally Posted by tillo View Post
    You got it wrong: subversion must be compiled against the Apache headers to create the mod_dav_svn module; Apache doesn't have a mod_dav_svn module itself, and you can't install subversion with yum.

    • deinstall subversion
    • set clean=no in CustomBuild's options.conf
    • recompile apache with the original configure script (delete yours), all required modules are already activated
    • download and extract the subversion source tarball
    • run "./configure --prefix=/usr --with-apxs=/usr/sbin/apxs --with-apr=/usr/bin/apr-config", "make" and "make install" in it
    • there should be a file named mod_dav_svn.so in /usr/lib/apache, and you should be able to run "svn help"
    • I use this config:

    Add this to /etc/httpd/conf/extra/httpd-includes.conf:
    Code:
    # All SVN directives
    Include conf/extra/httpd-svn.conf
    Create /etc/httpd/conf/extra/httpd-svn.conf:
    Code:
    LoadModule dav_svn_module /usr/lib/apache/mod_dav_svn.so
    LoadModule authz_svn_module /usr/lib/apache/mod_authz_svn.so
    
    <IfModule dav_svn_module>
    <IfModule authz_svn_module>
    <Location /svn>
        DAV svn
        SVNParentPath /svn
    
        AuthzSVNAccessFile /svn/authz
        Satisfy Any
        Require valid-user
        AuthType Basic
        AuthName "Subversion repository"
        AuthUserFile /svn/passwd
    </Location>
    </IfModule>
    </IfModule>
    ... with some changes in httpd-svn.conf

    Code:
    <IfModule dav_svn_module>
    <IfModule authz_svn_module>
    <Location svn.mydomain.com>
      DAV svn
      SVNParentPath /home/user2/svn/repos
      AuthType Basic
      AuthName "Subversion Repository"
      AuthUserFile /home/user2/svn/repos/htpasswd
      AuthzSVNAccessFile /home/user2/svn/repos/accessfile
    </Location>
    </IfModule>
    </IfModule>
    My server domain is serverdomain.com, but for svn I want to use subdomain for mydomain.com, which is already using by directadmin (I mean that I've already added mydomain.com via DireactAdmin panel and also there is some subdomains for it).
    I did not added subdomain "svn.mydomain.com" via DirectAdmin hosting panel.

    I've created viasvnmanager web script a "test" repository. In the htpasswd and accessfile - there are user and repository data. Also "/home/user2/svn/repos/test" was created.

    When I'm trying to open svn.mydomain.com, then it's open the page with:
    Apache is functioning normally

    But when I'm trying to open svn.mydomain.com/test, then it throws me "Not Found".

    Please help.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    26,123
    Have you checked your apache error log?

    Jeff
    +1 951 643-5345
    Third-Party DirectAdmin administration and support
    Dedicated Servers, Dedicated Reseller Accounts
    NoBaloney Internet Services div. Qnito Incorporated
    848 North Rainbow Blvd., Suite #3789
    Las Vegas, NV 89107-1103

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by jlasman View Post
    Have you checked your apache error log?

    Jeff
    strange, but it's full of "sh: host: command not found" message.
    also, for now svn.mydomain.com also throw error 105 (net::ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED)

    Any suggestions?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    557
    How dont you understand it? It means your dns doesnt resolve.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5
    any help? maybe something wrong in httpd.conf?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    26,123
    Start by giving us real information.

    Jeff
    +1 951 643-5345
    Third-Party DirectAdmin administration and support
    Dedicated Servers, Dedicated Reseller Accounts
    NoBaloney Internet Services div. Qnito Incorporated
    848 North Rainbow Blvd., Suite #3789
    Las Vegas, NV 89107-1103

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by jlasman View Post
    Start by giving us real information.

    Jeff
    What is not real? What do you mean by real information?
    All is real.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    26,123
    So then you own this domain:

    mydomain.com

    and/or this domain:

    serverdomain.com

    I presumed you were just using it instead of your real domain.

    In any event, are they on the same server?
    Code:
    $ dig mydomain.com +short
    66.150.120.131
    64.14.143.57
    jlasman@of1:~$ dig svn.mydomain.com +short
    216.34.94.184
    $ dig serverdomain.com +short
    66.36.184.5
    $ dig svn.serverdomain.com +short
    serverdomain.com.
    66.36.184.5
    64.14.143.57 and 216.34.94.184 may be on the same server, but it's unlikely that 66.36.284.5 are on the same server as any of the others.

    Presuming I'm right, and you haven't given us the right domain information, then you should probably (a) make sure all DNS resolutions work as they should, and (b) make sure you've created the subdomain as if it were a real domain, not as a subdomain.

    Jeff
    +1 951 643-5345
    Third-Party DirectAdmin administration and support
    Dedicated Servers, Dedicated Reseller Accounts
    NoBaloney Internet Services div. Qnito Incorporated
    848 North Rainbow Blvd., Suite #3789
    Las Vegas, NV 89107-1103

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5
    Yes, I've changed the domain names. Sorry, but it's confidential.

    I've change <Location svn.mydomain.com> to /svn and it works. But it's working for serverdomain.com/svn

    I didn't create a svn subdomain via DirectAdmin panel because in svn.conf is written:
    # In this example clients access the repository as http://hostname/svn/
    # Note, a literal /svn should NOT exist in your document root.

    But, anyhow, I've tried to create it. And it's appears that there is one <Virtualhost ...> (which was created by directadmin) and <Location svn.mydomain.com> (which I created) - so it's not working...

    Maybe I just should use <Virtualhost svn.mydomain.com> instead of Location?

Similar Threads

  1. wildcard on subdomain (only on subdomain)
    By majdaddin in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-26-2010, 12:08 AM
  2. subdomain
    By govinda in forum User-Level Difficulties
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-18-2006, 10:11 AM
  3. HOWTO: create POP3 account like anyname@subdomain.subdomain.ru
    By Dmitry Zenkov in forum How-To Guides
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-24-2005, 06:09 AM
  4. Invalid Subdomain name, Can every folder be a subdomain?
    By visoredge in forum User-Level Difficulties
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-05-2005, 08:20 AM
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-06-2005, 06:45 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •