Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Maxmind PHP Geoip

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2

    Maxmind PHP Geoip

    I searched the forums but didn't find anything much in regard to a custom php install of Maxmind's PHP geoip. I would like to install this on my Debian 6.0 64bit VPS running DirectAdmin. I want to set it up so that PHP code can call geoip information something like this:

    PHP Code:
    print_r(geoip_record_by_name('php.net')); 
    I tried installing by doing the following:

    Code:
    # wget http://geolite.maxmind.com/download/geoip/database/GeoLiteCity.dat.gz
    # gunzip GeoLiteCity.dat.gz
    # mkdir -v /usr/share/GeoIP
    # mv -v GeoLiteCity.dat /usr/share/GeoIP/GeoIPCity.dat
    
    # apt-get install php5-geoip
    But when I put the follow code in a file

    PHP Code:
    print_r(geoip_record_by_name('php.net')); 
    I get the following error message:

    PHP Code:
    Fatal errorCall to undefined function geoip_record_by_name() 
    Please let me know what I'm missing in order to make this work.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4,697
    That is not the right way to install the apache module. You have to install it through custombuild. Check the custombuild section of the forum.

    You can install it easy with apxs.

    Here is the file to install and follow the INSTALL guide.

    http://www.maxmind.com/download/geoi...2_1.2.7.tar.gz

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2

    Maxmind PHP Geoip DirectAdmin

    Thank you for your quick response but I need more specific direction than that. Could you please take a moment explain things step by step how to make it work? Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    26,123
    This isn't a Maxmind or Geoip forum. Wouldn't one of those be a better place to get support on a separate product?

    Jeff
    +1 951 643-5345
    Third-Party DirectAdmin administration and support
    Dedicated Servers, Dedicated Reseller Accounts
    NoBaloney Internet Services div. Qnito Incorporated
    848 North Rainbow Blvd., Suite #3789
    Las Vegas, NV 89107-1103

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by mieuxvivre View Post
    Thank you for your quick response but I need more specific direction than that. Could you please take a moment explain things step by step how to make it work? Thanks
    check this topic : Custombuild FAQ
    http://www.directadmin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=29824




    طراحی وب سایت

Similar Threads

  1. Does Directadmin have mod_geoip2 installed?- GeoIP htaccess
    By janton in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-15-2016, 12:12 PM
  2. How-TO: MaxMind GeoIP for Awstats
    By gunemalli in forum How-To Guides
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-13-2012, 02:15 PM
  3. How to install php-geoip ??
    By xalupeao in forum CentOS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 08:06 AM
  4. How to install Geolizer (Webalizer with GeoIP) ?
    By agnivo007 in forum Installation / System Requirements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-18-2008, 09:46 AM
  5. GeoIP
    By sspt in forum Apache (WWW)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-16-2005, 08:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •