Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: I need Help redirecting my domain from this server to GoogleSites

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7

    I need Help redirecting my domain from this server to GoogleSites

    Please help as soon as possible! I need to redirect my domain www.wildphotogallery.com to https://sites.google.com/site/wildphotogallery/home - I'm a total beginner at this.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,641
    As far as i can see is already like you say.

    Regards
    SeLLeRoNe - Andrea Iannucci
    DevOps Engineer - System Administrator
    If you need my support write me an E-Mail to Support@CrazyNetwork.it

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by SeLLeRoNe View Post
    As far as i can see is already like you say.

    Regards
    Well yeah, when you write the www.wildphotgalerry.com you are redirected to https://sites.google.com/site/wildphotogallery/home -I've found out how to do that one, but the main question is how to make the link above visible as http://www.wildphotogallery.com, not the https://sites.google.com/site/wildphotogallery/home ? ? ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,641
    I think you should do that with a php file, the redirect function will replace the url as far as i know: http://www.site-helper.com/misc.html#redirect

    Regards
    SeLLeRoNe - Andrea Iannucci
    DevOps Engineer - System Administrator
    If you need my support write me an E-Mail to Support@CrazyNetwork.it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1

    I need Help redirecting my domain from this server to GoogleSites

    You also can use a Google webmaster tool to check the website. The website is already redirect to https://sites.google.com/site/wildphotogallery/home.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by PaulAdams View Post
    You also can use a Google webmaster tool to check the website. The website is already redirect to https://sites.google.com/site/wildphotogallery/home.
    The information I found there is:
    Changing your CNAME record

    Depending on your domain registrar, you may need to make changes to your CNAME record in order for your site to be mapped:

    Sign in to the site where you control your own site with custom URL.
    Navigate to your Domain Name Server (DNS) management page. The location and name of this page varies by host, but can generally be found in the Domain Management or Advanced Settings section.
    Find the CNAME settings and in the section 'CNAME value or alias,' enter the sub-domain you'd like to map the URL to. The sub-domain for www.example.com would be www.
    Set the CNAME destination to the following address: ghs.google.com
    Save your changes with your domain host.



    I've tried to do that allready. Can you check if it's done correctly?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,641
    Post a screenshot of your DNS setup, cause as far as i can see the www is an A record and not a CNAME.

    Regards
    SeLLeRoNe - Andrea Iannucci
    DevOps Engineer - System Administrator
    If you need my support write me an E-Mail to Support@CrazyNetwork.it

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    GMT +7.00
    Posts
    11,023
    Quote Originally Posted by blastoise View Post
    I've tried to do that allready. Can you check if it's done correctly?
    IP 79.98.24.160 does not belong to Google APS, remove A record and set up a CNAME record for wildphotogallery.com and www
    With regards, Alex.

    Professional Server Management for web hosting companies and individuals
    Hourly Support, Disaster Recovery, Server Hardening, Monthly Subscription
    Directadmin installation and optimization

    Click here if you need a Linux Admin

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7

    DNS setings

    Quote Originally Posted by SeLLeRoNe View Post
    Post a screenshot of your DNS setup, cause as far as i can see the www is an A record and not a CNAME.

    Here is the print screen of my DNS settings:

    Regards
    DNS.pngDNS.png

    Hope this will help...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    GMT +7.00
    Posts
    11,023
    You should remove

    www A 79.98.24.160
    wildphotogallery.com. A 79.98.24.160

    add

    www CNAME ghs.google.com.
    wildphotogallery.com. CNAME ghs.google.com.


    Be careful with dots at the ends.
    With regards, Alex.

    Professional Server Management for web hosting companies and individuals
    Hourly Support, Disaster Recovery, Server Hardening, Monthly Subscription
    Directadmin installation and optimization

    Click here if you need a Linux Admin

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,641
    Also you should remove:

    ghs.google.com. CNAME ghs.google.com.

    Regards
    SeLLeRoNe - Andrea Iannucci
    DevOps Engineer - System Administrator
    If you need my support write me an E-Mail to Support@CrazyNetwork.it

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7

    New DNS setings

    Well should it be like this: ? ? ?

    New DNS.png

    Quote Originally Posted by zEitEr View Post
    You should remove

    www A 79.98.24.160
    wildphotogallery.com. A 79.98.24.160

    add

    www CNAME ghs.google.com.
    wildphotogallery.com. CNAME ghs.google.com.


    Be careful with dots at the ends.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    GMT +7.00
    Posts
    11,023
    You've missed a dot in line

    wildphotogallery.com. CNAME ghs.google.com.
    With regards, Alex.

    Professional Server Management for web hosting companies and individuals
    Hourly Support, Disaster Recovery, Server Hardening, Monthly Subscription
    Directadmin installation and optimization

    Click here if you need a Linux Admin

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7

    Error

    Well when I write it with the dot, I get some kind of ERROR, take a look:

    Error.png


    Quote Originally Posted by zEitEr View Post
    You've missed a dot in line

    wildphotogallery.com. CNAME ghs.google.com.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    GMT +7.00
    Posts
    11,023
    OK, it seems you can not add a CNAME record for wildphotogallery.com. then, as far as I recollect... correct me somebody if I'm wrong. Some time ago, I faced the same problem... So I guess you need to set a redirect in Apache (Directadmin) from wildphotogallery.com to www.wildphotogallery.com.
    With regards, Alex.

    Professional Server Management for web hosting companies and individuals
    Hourly Support, Disaster Recovery, Server Hardening, Monthly Subscription
    Directadmin installation and optimization

    Click here if you need a Linux Admin

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,641
    Zeiter does you think this should be this a kind of bug to notify to DA Staff?

    Regards
    SeLLeRoNe - Andrea Iannucci
    DevOps Engineer - System Administrator
    If you need my support write me an E-Mail to Support@CrazyNetwork.it

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7

    :d

    This is so fu*ked up... this from the first look simple thing - to redirect my domain, is too difficult for a noobie user like me

    Anyway, how on earth should I do that thing that you wrote me about?

    By the way I'm very grateful for your patience with me... Thanx a lot guys!

    Quote Originally Posted by zEitEr View Post
    OK, it seems you can not add a CNAME record for wildphotogallery.com. then, as far as I recollect... correct me somebody if I'm wrong. Some time ago, I faced the same problem... So I guess you need to set a redirect in Apache (Directadmin) from wildphotogallery.com to www.wildphotogallery.com.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    GMT +7.00
    Posts
    11,023
    Quote Originally Posted by SeLLeRoNe View Post
    Zeiter does you think this should be this a kind of bug to notify to DA Staff?

    Regards
    No, of course not. It's a limitation or a feature of DNS.

    A CNAME-record cannot exist with any other records for the same name, because a name cannot both be an alias (CNAME) and something else at the same time.

    From RFC1912 section 2.4:
    "A CNAME record is not allowed to coexist with any other data."

    If you try to create a CNAME-record for the name of the zone itself, you will always encounter this conflict because a zone always has at least a SOA-record and typically one or more NS-records with the zone name
    Related to http://www.rfc-editor.org/rfc/rfc1912.txt
    With regards, Alex.

    Professional Server Management for web hosting companies and individuals
    Hourly Support, Disaster Recovery, Server Hardening, Monthly Subscription
    Directadmin installation and optimization

    Click here if you need a Linux Admin

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    GMT +7.00
    Posts
    11,023
    Quote Originally Posted by blastoise View Post
    This is so fu*ked up... this from the first look simple thing - to redirect my domain, is too difficult for a noobie user like me

    Anyway, how on earth should I do that thing that you wrote me about?

    By the way I'm very grateful for your patience with me... Thanx a lot guys!


    I guess mod_rewrite is the best solution:

    Code:
    RewriteEngine On
    
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^wildphotogallery\.com
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://www.wildphotogallery.com/$1 [R=permanent,L]
    Or put a PHP/PERL script to redirect users.
    With regards, Alex.

    Professional Server Management for web hosting companies and individuals
    Hourly Support, Disaster Recovery, Server Hardening, Monthly Subscription
    Directadmin installation and optimization

    Click here if you need a Linux Admin

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,939
    @blastoise I think you should first add 4 a records using Google sites IPs. The IPs in my example might not be correct for you to use, please doublecheck that and replace them with 4 IPs from Google:

    Code:
    wildphotogallery.com.	A	216.239.32.21	
    wildphotogallery.com.	A	216.239.34.21	
    wildphotogallery.com.	A	216.239.36.21	
    wildphotogallery.com.	A	216.239.38.21
    Then I think you should add this cname (you might need to remove any existing a records for www before you add this):

    Code:
    www	CNAME	ghs.google.com.
    You should not add any more cnames, only the www one. I might be wrong, but I don't think so. Please read the instructions from Google and try this.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-15-2015, 01:01 AM
  2. Troubles with redirecting
    By Alegiano in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-22-2011, 07:33 AM
  3. Redirecting web site
    By Mufty in forum User-Level Difficulties
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-23-2007, 06:28 PM
  4. Problems in redirecting
    By eeejump in forum Admin-Level Difficulties
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-10-2005, 10:39 PM
  5. Redirecting a domain name to a sub domain
    By webster in forum User-Level Difficulties
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-16-2004, 09:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •