Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 29

Thread: CentOS 6.3 released!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,960

    CentOS 6.3 released!

    Update 7/8: The external mirros are starting to pick up the new release. The new content will be kept not accessable until enough mirrors have sync'd up. http://qaweb.dev.centos.org/qa/node/135#comment-133
    Shifting 10+ gbps (38 machines), seeding CentOS-6.3 to external mirrors. All the donors and sponsors who make this happen: You Rock. http://twitter.com/CentOS/status/222272534098354176
    Edit: New update at http://qaweb.dev.centos.org/qa/node/136

    CentOS-6.3 Release sometime today (7/9)

    The CentOS-6.3 tree is now syncing to the external mirrors. Our mirrorlist and isoredirect scripts are looking for external mirrors with content and some time within the next 12 or so hours, CentOS-6.3 will be released.

    A big thanks to all involved, especially the QA team, for the work accomplished to get this release out.
    Waiting for CentOS 6.3 release announcement http://lists.centos.org/pipermail/ce...July/date.html
    Last edited by ditto; 07-09-2012 at 10:47 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,960
    CentOS 6.3 is now released! Here is "[CentOS-announce] Release for CentOS-6.3 i386 and x86_64" http://www.mail-archive.com/centos-a.../msg06701.html

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    32

    Centos update

    I updated non-production enviroment and for now there is no problem. Recomended upgrade procedure is:

    yum clean all
    yum update glibc\*
    yum update yum\* rpm\* python\*
    yum clean all
    yum update kernel\*
    yum update
    shutdown -r now

    after reboot ./build all d

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,960
    Is all that really needed if updating from 6.2 to 6.3? From http://www.mail-archive.com/centos-a.../msg06701.html

    Unless you have edited your yum configs, a 'yum update' should move your machine seamlessly from any previous CentOS-6.x release to CentOS-6.3
    Also, why would you need to run ./build all d in custombuild after upgrading CentOS?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    32
    Because all modules should be linked with new libs...

    John can confirm that

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,960
    Hm. But I did not recompile anything in custombuild after upgrading from CentOS 6.0 to 6.1, also I did not recompile anything in custombuild after upgrade from 6.1 to 6.2, and there was never any problems after upgrade to the new CentOS versions.

    So, is this only a special case regarding CentOS 6.3?

    I will contact John and ask for clarification.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,960
    And also, why do you need to do this?:

    Code:
    yum clean all
    yum update glibc\*
    yum update yum\* rpm\* python\*
    yum clean all
    yum update kernel\*
    yum update
    shutdown -r now
    Why can't you only do?:

    Code:
    yum update
    reboot

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    32
    It is safer that way and is recomended by Centos, dont blame me

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,960
    Don't get me wrong, I am only trying to learn, and make sure my upgrades goes without trouble. Thank you for sharing. However, it is still not clear to me if the yum commands is needed like you has listed. Previous I have only run yum update. Also, maybe it is safer for me, because I have ALL existing upgrades until CentOS 6.3 already upgraded, I don't know. I have sent John a email, and hope he will reply to this thread.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    32
    Share answer with us. Thanks

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    26,123
    @ditto,

    I agree with your concerns, but the process makes sense when thinking about it, though I probably won't do a ./build all in CustomBuild; it takes too long for those of us maintaining lots of our servers, and it's generally not a problem with libraries.

    However I would like to see John's comments, and I hope he replies here.

    Jeff
    +1 951 643-5345
    Third-Party DirectAdmin administration and support
    Dedicated Servers, Dedicated Reseller Accounts
    NoBaloney Internet Services div. Qnito Incorporated
    848 North Rainbow Blvd., Suite #3789
    Las Vegas, NV 89107-1103

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    6,641
    Actually no, isnt that needed.

    I did test on a test box upgrade and just reboot (more cause of new kernel) and all services are working fine.

    The only one exception i did have was openssh cause i use to compile from source with latest openssl and openssh version provided from update.script (avaible on this forum), but, once recompiled just openssh again from update.script sshd worked fine as usual.

    And definitely is not related to directadmin incompatibility.

    Regards
    SeLLeRoNe - Andrea Iannucci
    DevOps Engineer - System Administrator
    If you need my support write me an E-Mail to Support@CrazyNetwork.it

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    26,123
    I always as a matter of course update yum first in case there's something new in it which would affect what it would find when updating everything else. Always have. Probably always will. I respect your thoughts as well, but always like to hear what others think.

    Jeff
    +1 951 643-5345
    Third-Party DirectAdmin administration and support
    Dedicated Servers, Dedicated Reseller Accounts
    NoBaloney Internet Services div. Qnito Incorporated
    848 North Rainbow Blvd., Suite #3789
    Las Vegas, NV 89107-1103

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,960
    I have now upgraded one of my servers from 6.2 to 6.3. I have not found any problems yet. I only did yum update and reboot. However I notice that CentOS has upgrade of pcre in yum, however I have pcre installed in custombuild - should I recompile pcre in custombuild, or should it be fine?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    26,123
    Unfortunately you may need to tell us. Check to see where custombuild says it get installed, and then look to see if yum has installed it in the same place or elsewhere. Then test.

    Perhaps we should be removing pcre from yum before installing it from custombuild, but of course that may not be possible; it may break dependencies.

    Maybe it should at least be in the exclude list in the yum configuration if it's installed through custombuild.

    Hopefully you won't have any problems; if I were you I'd follow the diagnostics I mentioned above and get back to the forum to help others .

    Jeff
    +1 951 643-5345
    Third-Party DirectAdmin administration and support
    Dedicated Servers, Dedicated Reseller Accounts
    NoBaloney Internet Services div. Qnito Incorporated
    848 North Rainbow Blvd., Suite #3789
    Las Vegas, NV 89107-1103

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    581
    well I'll admit to being confused here
    following topic closely now before I try LOL

    would really like to see someone who runs apache 2.4.2 and php 5.4.4 reply to see if there are any issues upgrading.
    Last edited by dmacleo; 07-12-2012 at 01:08 PM.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,960
    @dmacleo, it should not matter what apache and php version your running, just upgrade to CentOS 6.3 and reboot (because there is new kernel). Just do "yum update" followed by a "reboot". I did on three servers without any trouble.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    581
    ok I will say a prayer and start this soon

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    581
    ugh reboot taking forever...10 min so far.
    sigh

    30 min now, send ticket to datacenter as I have no connections.
    Last edited by dmacleo; 07-13-2012 at 02:26 AM.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1,960
    If it takes more then 15 minutes, I would contact the datacenter and ask them to look at it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. CentOS 5.7 released
    By ccto in forum 3rd Party Software Version Updates
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-07-2011, 12:51 AM
  2. CentOS 5.5 released
    By ccto in forum CentOS
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-31-2010, 04:49 AM
  3. Centos 5 Released
    By Senad in forum Installation / System Requirements
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 05-17-2007, 11:24 PM
  4. CentOS 4.4 Released
    By FastAttack in forum Required Software Version Updates
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-05-2006, 06:46 PM
  5. Centos 3.8 released
    By empowering in forum Required Software Version Updates
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-25-2006, 05:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •