Installing DirectAdmin on Google Compute Engine VM

ORiN

Verified User
I am exploring cloud solutions for a client and is exploring if it is possible to install DirectAdmin on Google's Compute Engine. Anyone with similar experience?

I figured that since the VM can run CentOS, I should be able to install DirectAdmin.

I have no experience with it. The purpose of my reply is to point out some of the issues you may run into:

1) does the instance stay connected? Are there any circumstances under which it could disappear? If so does any of its storage disappear with it? if so, then do you have a way to completely backup your virtual bare-metal system?

2) do you have pass through access to one or more static IPs? I seem to recall that Amazon has or at least had a problem with this. There was a workaround, but it may not be officially supported by DirectAdmin.

Perhaps you can give it a try and let us know.

Jeff

To answer your questions, the instance is supposed to stay connected as it is used to host some websites and a web application. My server admin is using a static IP for the VM.

Looks like my server admin will have to try on his own for now. I will report back with some of our findings.

It looks like Google Compute Engine has the same issues as Amazon even if the external IP is pointing to the network address. Given that cloud solutions are getting more and more common, this is extremely frustrating.

What does the word cloud mean to you?

The Google Compute Engine, just as the Amazon Web Service, is a specialized kind of cloud solution, designed for on-demand hosting. It's a solution in the cloud whre the word cloud refers to that good old standby most of us call the Internet.

Many software systems require pass-through IP solutions for license control. I recall reading a work-around which enables DirectAdmin to work on AWS, and the same might very well work with Google Comute Engine.