Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: how to enable userdir?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8

    how to enable userdir?

    I upgraded my directadmin so I can use letsencrypt, only to find out that in this process the once working userdir $ip/~username/ has been disabled:

    how do I get this working again? Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    GMT +7.00
    Posts
    11,414
    Hello,

    Userdir should be enabled. I did not find any mention that it was disabled in Directadmin. What error do you have?
    With regards, Alex.

    Professional Server Management for web hosting companies and individuals
    Hourly Support, Disaster Recovery, Server Hardening, Monthly Subscription
    Directadmin installation and optimization

    Click here if you need a Linux Admin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8
    Hi zEItEr, thanks for your response.

    somehow since the update when I visit the ip address of the server I get presented with the first (alphabetical order) website I host on that server, when I try to visit $ip/~username/ I get a 404 error page from the first website I host: really don't know where to look to get this fixed.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    GMT +7.00
    Posts
    11,414
    What is your setup? What is your OS name? OpenSSL version?

    Are behind NAT? Are you using nginx standalone? nginx+apache ? or single apache?
    With regards, Alex.

    Professional Server Management for web hosting companies and individuals
    Hourly Support, Disaster Recovery, Server Hardening, Monthly Subscription
    Directadmin installation and optimization

    Click here if you need a Linux Admin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8
    centos 6.9
    OpenSSL 1.0.1e-fips 11 Feb 2013

    Not behind NAT, using single apache

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    GMT +7.00
    Posts
    11,414
    Do you have single or multiple IPs? Are all of them added into Directadmin?

    Do you see your IPs in /etc/httpd/conf/ips.conf ?
    With regards, Alex.

    Professional Server Management for web hosting companies and individuals
    Hourly Support, Disaster Recovery, Server Hardening, Monthly Subscription
    Directadmin installation and optimization

    Click here if you need a Linux Admin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8
    Hi AMzEitEr,

    I have a single ip, the following is the content of ips.conf:

    Code:
    # Auto generated apache config file by DirectAdmin version 1.51.3
    # Modifying this file is not recommended as any changes you make will be
    # overwritten when you add/remove ip's through DirectAdmin.
    
    LogFormat "%O \"%r\"" homedir

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    GMT +7.00
    Posts
    11,414
    With a single IP you should find a default virtual host with your IP here: /etc/httpd/conf/extra/httpd-vhosts.conf
    Please check it and let us know what you see there.
    With regards, Alex.

    Professional Server Management for web hosting companies and individuals
    Hourly Support, Disaster Recovery, Server Hardening, Monthly Subscription
    Directadmin installation and optimization

    Click here if you need a Linux Admin

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8
    this is the content of the config file in question, only editing I did was censor the ip address

    Code:
    #
    # Virtual Hosts
    #
    # Required modules: mod_log_config
    #
    # If you want to maintain multiple domains/hostnames on your
    # machine you can setup VirtualHost containers for them. Most configurations
    # use only name-based virtual hosts so the server doesn't need to worry about
    # IP addresses. This is indicated by the asterisks in the directives below.
    #
    # Please see the documentation at
    # <URL:http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.4/vhosts/>
    # for further details before you try to setup virtual hosts.
    #
    # You may use the command line option '-S' to verify your virtual host
    # configuration.
    
    ##########################################################
    # Use name-based virtual hosting.                        #
    # All NameVirtualHost lines are in this file             #
    # Don't remove this line or apache will generate errors. #
    ##########################################################
    Include /etc/httpd/conf/ips.conf
    
    #
    # VirtualHost example:
    # Almost any Apache directive may go into a VirtualHost container.
    # The first VirtualHost section is used for all requests that do not
    # match a ServerName or ServerAlias in any <VirtualHost> block.
    #
    <VirtualHost $ip_address $ip_address:80>
        ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost
        UserDir public_html
        DocumentRoot /var/www/html
        ServerName localhost
        ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /var/www/cgi-bin/
        CustomLog /var/log/httpd/homedir.log homedir
        CustomLog /var/log/httpd/access_log combined
        ErrorLog /var/log/httpd/error_log
    
        <IfModule !mod_ruid2.c>
            SuexecUserGroup webapps webapps
        </IfModule>
    </VirtualHost>
    
    <VirtualHost $ip_address $ip_address:443>
        ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost
        UserDir public_html
        DocumentRoot /var/www/html
        ServerName localhost
        ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /var/www/cgi-bin/
        CustomLog /var/log/httpd/homedir.log homedir
        CustomLog /var/log/httpd/access_log combined
        ErrorLog /var/log/httpd/error_log
    
        SSLEngine on
        SSLCertificateFile /etc/httpd/conf/ssl.crt/server.crt
        SSLCertificateKeyFile /etc/httpd/conf/ssl.key/server.key
        SSLCACertificateFile /etc/httpd/conf/ssl.crt/server.ca
    
        <IfModule !mod_ruid2.c>
            SuexecUserGroup webapps webapps
        </IfModule>
    </VirtualHost>

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    GMT +7.00
    Posts
    11,414
    With the config you should have access to UserDirs. I have the same config and UserDir works fine. What is you apache version?

    Do you see your server's IP there? Why do you have $ip_address $ip_address (two times)? Is it a typo?
    With regards, Alex.

    Professional Server Management for web hosting companies and individuals
    Hourly Support, Disaster Recovery, Server Hardening, Monthly Subscription
    Directadmin installation and optimization

    Click here if you need a Linux Admin

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8
    Thank you for your help, turns out from the 2 listed ip addresses in the config only 1 was the correct one so I deleted the other one.

    now when I visit $ip I get the
    Apache is functioning normally
    message again so that's nice, however when I try to visit $ip/~username/ I get a

    Not Found

    The requested URL /~user/ was not found on this server.

    Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
    My apache version is 2.4.12, again thanks for all the help I feel like we almost got this!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    GMT +7.00
    Posts
    11,414
    You might have the wrong IP in virtual hosts as well.

    did you try
    Code:
    ./build rewrite_confs
    ?

    Do you see correct IP addresses in Directadmin at admin level? Do you have linked IPs?

    and here?

    Code:
    grep ^lan_ip /usr/local/directadmin/conf/directadmin.conf
    Code:
    ls -1 /usr/local/directadmin/data/admin/ips/
    With regards, Alex.

    Professional Server Management for web hosting companies and individuals
    Hourly Support, Disaster Recovery, Server Hardening, Monthly Subscription
    Directadmin installation and optimization

    Click here if you need a Linux Admin

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    8
    Thank you so much! turns out there was a not correct ip present in

    /usr/local/directadmin/data/admin/ips/

    after removing this one and rebuilding the config it's working properly again

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •