Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: phpMyAdmin only accessible via DirectAdmin

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    9

    Lightbulb phpMyAdmin only accessible via DirectAdmin

    phpMyAdmin is now available to everyone. Everyone knows the default url. For security reasons, I would only want to make phpMyAdmin accessible once you are logged into DirectAdmin.

    If a MySQL password leaks out, you can easily view and download sensitive information. This does not even require technical knowledge.

    The MySQL Password is the only password that is unencrypted in the source code. With a security leak in the website, it is often also easy to see this password.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    740
    Phpmyadmin and directadmin are different software. You'll have to code that manually.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Arnhem, NL
    Posts
    393
    +1

    Plesk for example has this enabled by default and you can enable access without logging in first;

    https://support.plesk.com/hc/en-us/a...sk-url-itself-

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    9
    It does not matter that Phpmyadmin and DirectAdmin are different software. phpMyAdmin supports SSO so it seems technically no problem.

    cPanel also has this functionality.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    GMT +7.00
    Posts
    12,195

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by zEitEr View Post
    Ok, I tried this, and it seems to work. But I tried to change the script from 'all_post.sh' to 'login_post.sh' but then it isn't working.. Is this because the session isn't created yet at that point? It would make the script more disk-efficient if this would work.. It's better to have this integrated like other control panels ofcourse..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    179
    +1.

    This is a lacking feature users constantly complain about, mainly because they're used to having it in other panels like plesk or cpanel.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    GMT +7.00
    Posts
    12,195
    Quote Originally Posted by Nickske00 View Post
    Ok, I tried this, and it seems to work. But I tried to change the script from 'all_post.sh' to 'login_post.sh' but then it isn't working.. Is this because the session isn't created yet at that point? It would make the script more disk-efficient if this would work.. It's better to have this integrated like other control panels ofcourse..
    Run the script with cron once per minute, 2, 3, 5...?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    10
    Would be great if this feature was implemented...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    9
    I would like a good single sign On solution. No workaround.

    After it has been tested, I want to use it with all our customers and then I want a bug free solution.

    If DirectAdmin does not do anything with the feature request, we may develop it ourselves. If you are interested, please let me know and we can share the development costs.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •