Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: DirectAdmin 1.53.1 Release Candidate 1

  1. #1

    DirectAdmin 1.53.1 Release Candidate 1

    Hello,

    We're pleased to announce the 1.53.1 release candidate for DirectAdmin:

    Version: 1.53.1 RC1

    All features and fixes are listed here:
    https://www.directadmin.com/versions...rsion=1.531000

    If you find any issues, please reply here with reports (rather than tickets or email, unless requested) to avoid duplicate reports.

    The biggest new feature will be the LetsEncrypt wildcard certificates.
    NOTE: To use it, you must enable dns_ttl=1 for per-record TTL settings, or else the LE Wildcard checkbox won't show up.

    If all goes well, the full/stable release is slated for June 26th.

    To download this version, please grab the pre-release binaries:
    https://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=408

    John

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    203
    Ditto,

    it is common to do this when installing Drupal, actual it is recommended to install Drupal with a custom path to /home/username/tmp
    Can you please guide me to the document said about the recommendation to install Drupal in /tmp? I have used Drupal since Drupal 5 until now but I never see any document about that. Wondering if I miss something here?


    Thanks,

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    128
    Nice to see new function as the encrypted backup, i do hav e question:

    1.Is this also valid for offsite backups ?
    2. What if we do backup by cron ? how is this handeld with the passwords?
    3.The used passwords for backup are the same as the user pass or is that the reseller or admin pass?

    Sorry its not really clear for me, can you explain more ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2,116
    Quote Originally Posted by nmb View Post
    Can you please guide me to the document said about the recommendation to install Drupal in /tmp? I have used Drupal since Drupal 5 until now but I never see any document about that. Wondering if I miss something here?
    Then you misunderstood me. I was talking about the tmp-folder, and for Drupal I think it is best to place it at /home/user/domains/domain.com/tmp (and many Drupal users do that) - I did not say Drupal should be installed in tmp. By the way, please see my "Edit" in previous post, it is not a conflict after all.

    Edit: I have deleted the post you replied to, because it is no longer relevant (because I was thinking about the wrong paths).
    Last edited by ditto; 06-14-2018 at 10:25 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    203
    Quote Originally Posted by ditto View Post
    Then you misunderstood me. I was talking about the tmp-folder, and for Drupal I think it is best to place it at /home/user/domains/domain.com/tmp (and many Drupal users do that) - I did not say Drupal should be installed in tmp. By the way, please see my "Edit" in previous post, it is not a conflict after all.

    Edit: I have deleted the post you replied to, because it is no longer relevant (because I was thinking about the wrong paths).
    OK, since you didn't mention anything about tmp-folder in your post. I understand now.

    Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Tucuman - Argentina
    Posts
    52
    It will be good to add package column to SHOW ALL USERS List. So, you can identifiy each client. Thank you
    ___________
    TRIX.Hosting

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    isreal
    Posts
    466
    I think, the most needed things it's:
    https://www.directadmin.com/features.php?id=2126

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    195
    Is it correct that the per-TTL settings do not apply to NS records? We used the Override TTL Value method to extend the TTL for a domain. Now that the per-TTL settings are visible all records except the NS records got the overridden value, only the NS records still got the default value. Removing the NS records and re-adding them with the higher TTL in the input field does not work, the NS record is still added with the default TTL.

    (for example .IS domains require a higher TTL then the default TTL for NS records, which means we cannot use our DNS records as .IS requires a higher TTL then the DA default).

    Edit: /var/named/<domain>.db has:

    <domainname>. 86400 IN NS ns1.<domainname>

    However the DirectAdmin GUI says the TTL is 14400. Error in the GUI?
    Last edited by DutchTSE; 06-22-2018 at 01:59 AM.

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by DutchTSE View Post
    Is it correct that the per-TTL settings do not apply to NS records? We used the Override TTL Value method to extend the TTL for a domain. Now that the per-TTL settings are visible all records except the NS records got the overridden value, only the NS records still got the default value. Removing the NS records and re-adding them with the higher TTL in the input field does not work, the NS record is still added with the default TTL.

    (for example .IS domains require a higher TTL then the default TTL for NS records, which means we cannot use our DNS records as .IS requires a higher TTL then the DA default).

    Edit: /var/named/<domain>.db has:

    <domainname>. 86400 IN NS ns1.<domainname>

    However the DirectAdmin GUI says the TTL is 14400. Error in the GUI?
    Thanks for the report. Yes, was a bug with the read.
    The issue was the old design issue with the NS records being swapped where the "value" (right side) is the unique index, rather than the "name" on the left.
    This swapped the internal result index.

    I've tested the fix, seems to be working now.
    Pre-release binaries are uploading now, available in about 10 minutes.
    Let me know if there are any other issues.

    John

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Active8 View Post
    Nice to see new function as the encrypted backup, i do hav e question:

    1.Is this also valid for offsite backups ?
    2. What if we do backup by cron ? how is this handeld with the passwords?
    3.The used passwords for backup are the same as the user pass or is that the reseller or admin pass?

    Sorry its not really clear for me, can you explain more ?
    Hello,

    1) Yes, it's for all backups created with a password, regardless of location
    2) The encrypted password is also used for crons.
    3) Not entirely clear on this question, but the password used during encryption/decryption is stand-alone.. it's whatever you set. It has no requirement to match up with other password.

    John

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    47
    I receive fake notifications, but in fail2ban blocked IP address "A new message or response with subject:

    Brute-Force Attack detected in service log from IP(s) 5.xxx.xxx.xxx

    has arrived for you to view.
    Follow this link to view it:"

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    195
    Another bug found: login as a user that got domain pointers under a domain. Go to domain pointers menu and click Manage to manage the DNS settings of the domain pointer. The TTL value field contains: `TTL_VALUE`

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    1,608
    Quote Originally Posted by staff_nowa View Post
    I receive fake notifications, but in fail2ban blocked IP address "A new message or response with subject:
    If you're using fail2ban, you should turn off DirectAdmin's BruteForce Detector - or it's notifications - because it will still parse the logs even when a third-party is blocking IPs.
    Regards, Peter
    UK Web Hosting - Professional & Reliable Shared and VPS Hosting! Offering DirectAdmin licences on our VPS's

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by DutchTSE View Post
    Another bug found: login as a user that got domain pointers under a domain. Go to domain pointers menu and click Manage to manage the DNS settings of the domain pointer. The TTL value field contains: `TTL_VALUE`
    Thanks for the report. Fixed.

    As for fail2ban, I've never really used it myself, but in the past I didn't notice it covering all services... (perhaps they've changed)
    There are some fairly specific logging done in a DA box.. and I'm not aware of too many scanners that actually catch ALL things.
    The outliers are things like phpMyAdmin logging and RoundCube logging, as they have their own logs (PMA for DA has a patch for a custom log)
    So the recommended scanner is to use CSF+BFM together:
    https://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=527

    John

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    5

    Issues on Chrome

    Hi there.
    I wanted to put this here as well.
    As I installed the update today, some issues occured only on Google Chrome.

    See screenshot:
    http://cloud.jerrix.website/sYtw

    Buttons doens't show up as buttons but only shows the text and checkboxes doesn't show up. Tried in incognito and removed all my local cache in Chrome, didn't help. Then I went on DA via Safari and the problem doesn't appear there.

    Jeroen

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Tucuman - Argentina
    Posts
    52
    clear your chrome cache. That's solves the issue for me.
    ___________
    TRIX.Hosting

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Posts
    44
    Thanks for this update, but i am still waiting for stable version.
    Thank you.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2,116
    Quote Originally Posted by ayeweb View Post
    Thanks for this update, but i am still waiting for stable version.
    Thank you.
    The stable version is already released: https://forum.directadmin.com/showthread.php?t=56529

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •