Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Please help me with this simple DNS question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    71

    Please help me with this simple DNS question

    I am just a freelancer with very few sites about 10 that I run in a cpanel VPS

    OK to make long story short

    Every time I change servers I have to go to each client domain and change the name server


    I want to use my directadmin VPS also for this dns entry so it takes care of those 10 websites in other server.

    Is putting the following enough?

    ===============================


    ; Zone file for clientdomain.com
    $TTL 14400
    clientdomain.com. 86400 IN SOA ns1.mydomain.com. mail.gmail.com. (
    2013071600 ; serial, todays date+todays
    86400 ; refresh, seconds
    7200 ; retry, seconds
    3600000 ; expire, seconds
    86400 ) ; minimum, seconds

    clientdomain.com. 86400 IN NS ns1.mydomain.com.
    clientdomain.com. 86400 IN NS ns2.mydomain.com.

    clientdomain.com. IN A 200.301.235.33

    localhost.clientdomain.com. IN A 127.0.0.1

    clientdomain.com. IN MX 0 clientdomain.com.

    mail IN CNAME clientdomain.com.
    www IN CNAME clientdomain.com.
    ftp IN CNAME clientdomain.com.
    _dmarc 14400 IN TXT "v=DMARC1; p=none"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    82
    You do not need to edit anything manually (or little less)


    Just get 2 IPs as some rare CC domains refuses to use single but you could do it wit one

    go to your domain provider register 2 names servers with your vps IP / ips (Create Name servers or something)

    ns1.yourdomain.com
    ns2.yourdomain.com

    Set your domain to use ns1.yourdomain.com ns2.yourdomain.com

    Create yourdomain.com on the vps

    check if it work (if it work) you are good to go

    just create clientdomain.com on the vps and tell your cliet to set
    ns1.yourdomain.com
    ns2.yourdomain.com
    Trying my best

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    71
    Thank for reply. I know all these and it works ok but one of my clients who uses google apps for his email had problem
    google apps stopped working so do I need to put all google apps MX record in there too? All I care is just using ns1 and ns2 of my server while
    all other information is read from the original server

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by psalm91 View Post
    Thank for reply. I know all these and it works ok but one of my clients who uses google apps for his email had problem
    google apps stopped working so do I need to put all google apps MX record in there too? All I care is just using ns1 and ns2 of my server while
    all other information is read from the original server
    If your client is using your nameservers, then yes you will have to input all MX records from google apps. follow this:

    mxEXTERNAL.PNG

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    71
    Quote Originally Posted by lowprofile View Post
    If your client is using your nameservers, then yes you will have to input all MX records from google apps. follow this:

    mxEXTERNAL.PNG
    If they are just using the dns do I need to give them some sort of access so they can update that information when ever they want?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by psalm91 View Post
    If they are just using the dns do I need to give them some sort of access so they can update that information when ever they want?
    If your client's domain is hosted under his own DirectAdmin account, and you want to allow them to edit their domains' DNS records, then you need to give their DirectAdmin credentials.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    71
    Quote Originally Posted by RoseHosting View Post
    If your client's domain is hosted under his own DirectAdmin account, and you want to allow them to edit their domains' DNS records, then you need to give their DirectAdmin credentials.
    Thanks no client has his site hosted in a cpanel another server .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •