Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 30

Thread: Fresh Install of Urchin V5

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,326

    Fresh Install / upgrade of Urchin V5

    as usual with my howto guides i take no responsibility if anything goes wrong, If you have any problems feel free to post here although i do not guaranatee i will be able to help.

    the howto assumes that you do not currently have any version of urchin on your server.

    ok, lets start

    Firstly:

    // text like this is information

    # commands_are_shown_like -this

    ----------------

    log in as root

    # mkdir urchin

    # cd urchin

    // For RH 7.2 / 7.3
    # wget http://www.urchin.com/download/urchi...edhat72.tar.gz

    // For RH 8
    # wget http://www.urchin.com/download/urchi...edhat8x.tar.gz

    // For RH 9
    # wget http://www.urchin.com/download/urchi...edhat9x.tar.gz

    # tar zxvf urchin500*

    # rm -f urchin5101_redhat*

    # chmod 755 install.sh

    # ./install.sh

    // you will be asked a few questions by the install script, type the appropriate answers, for the port number, we are going to use 8080 for this howto.

    // DO YOU WANT TO START URCHIN AFTER THE INSTALLATION? -

    if you want urchin to be under httpp (unsecure) type y (for yes), if you want to put urchin under https (secure) type n as we will need to configure it.


    -------------------------------------------------------------------

    CHECK THE FILES / PATHS USED BELOW ARE CORRECT, THEY ARE BASED ON PLESK 6 SO MAY BE WRONG, IF SO, USE THE 'LOCATE' COMMAND TO FIND OUT THE CORRECT LOCATION OF THE FILE

    IGNORE THIS SECTION IF YOU DO NOT WANT URCHIN IN HTTPS (SECURE) SPACE)

    # cp /etc/httpd/conf/ssl.crt/server.crt /usr/local/urchin/var
    # cp /etc/httpd/conf/ssl.key/server.key /usr/local/urchin/var
    # pico -w /usr/local/urchin/var/urchinwebd.conf.template

    you will now be in pico, on line 7 replace "ServerName Localhost" with your hostname like this "ServerName srv01.yourdomain.com"

    press [CTRL] + [X] to exit, when you are asked if you want to save the chnages, type Y and press enter.

    # pico -w /usr/local/urchin/util/urchin_daemons

    scroll down to line 35, you should see this:

    "$INSTALLDIR/bin/urchinctl" start

    Replace it with:

    "$INSTALLDIR/bin/urchinctl" -e start

    ------------------------------------------------------------------

    the final section, all users should do this running in ssl or not!

    # cp /usr/local/urchin/util/urchin_daemons /etc/rc.d/init.d/urchin
    # chmod 755 /etc/rc.d/init.d/urchin
    # pico -w /etc/rc.d/rc.local

    // at the of the file just add the following line:

    /etc/rc.d/init.d/urchin start

    press [CTRL] + [X] to exit, type y when it asks you if you want to save changes and press enter to exit.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Notices!

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    firstly i would like to point out that the howto is based on the one from unoffical-support.com, it has been rewrtten and modified for PSA6 users.

    You can now log in at (if you chose secure) https://hostname:8080 or (if you chose unsecure) http://hostname:8080

    hostname should be replaced with your servers hostname and 8080 is the port you chose during the installation... if you did not chnage it the urchin default is 9999

    MAKE SURE IF YOU HAVE A FIREWALL YOU OPEN THE USED PORT

    when you setup a profile for users in urchin you will be required to give the full system path to the sites access_log file

    If you get permission files you will need to do:

    // log directory
    # chmod 555 /httpd/logs/DOMAIN.COM/logs/
    # chmod 777 -r /httpd/logs/DOMAIN.COM/logs/

    NOTE THE ABOVE ARE NOT THE ACTUAL PATHS... I AM UNSURE OF THESE IN DIRECTADMIN SO YOU WILL HAVE TO CHECK

    please post with comments, or any chnages that have to be made to this howto (i cant test it - sorry )any problems also feel free to post here... i have installed urchin on almost every RH server apart from DA so i might be able to help :P

    Enjoy it

    Chris
    OptimumServers » Managed Dedicated Servers & General Systems Management » Coming Soon!
    ProWebUK - Quality Web Services
    DirectAdmin Server Checklist

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,326

    Upgrading From V4 to V5

    To upgrade from V4 to V5 please follow the above guide. After running the following step:

    # ./install.sh

    Make sure you select the 'upgrade' option and not install.

    Most of the options you choose after that shown in the above guide will need to be ignored. You do not need to follow any more of the guide, if you wish to put it under https follow the section regarding that, the rc.local fsection does not need to be done for an upgrade

    Chris
    OptimumServers » Managed Dedicated Servers & General Systems Management » Coming Soon!
    ProWebUK - Quality Web Services
    DirectAdmin Server Checklist

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    217
    Any way to automate the creation of profiles, just like in Ensim?

    I could work it but I can't find the file that DA runs when creating a new site.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,326
    Also unsure of the file executed when a site is created...

    sorry
    OptimumServers » Managed Dedicated Servers & General Systems Management » Coming Soon!
    ProWebUK - Quality Web Services
    DirectAdmin Server Checklist

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2,097
    I'm about to have a go at it.
    Anything new since this HowTo was first posted?
    Olivier
    interfaCentre - We design custom hosting solutions

    Custom apps, scripts and configurations for easy and secure access to all hosting services
    Full Personal Information Management suite with mobile synchronisation
    PHP, Ruby, Node.js and Python hosting with 1-click app install

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,326
    Nope, i think the version may be 0.001 out... if so the wget wont work (Urchin remove previous versions), I will update the links (if needs be) in a moment.

    Chris
    OptimumServers » Managed Dedicated Servers & General Systems Management » Coming Soon!
    ProWebUK - Quality Web Services
    DirectAdmin Server Checklist

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,326
    Just updated the links and version numbers shown.

    Chris
    OptimumServers » Managed Dedicated Servers & General Systems Management » Coming Soon!
    ProWebUK - Quality Web Services
    DirectAdmin Server Checklist

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2,097
    Thanks!

    Since most paths were the ones for Plesk 6, I was wondering if you ran into big problems there and if a simple locate solved the problems.
    Olivier
    interfaCentre - We design custom hosting solutions

    Custom apps, scripts and configurations for easy and secure access to all hosting services
    Full Personal Information Management suite with mobile synchronisation
    PHP, Ruby, Node.js and Python hosting with 1-click app install

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,326
    The onlt thing that is really specifi to plesk would be the location of users log files. this is used in the format shown below.

    // log directory
    # chmod 555 /httpd/logs/DOMAIN.COM/logs/
    # chmod 777 -r /httpd/logs/DOMAIN.COM/logs/

    Simply replace the paths with the actual paths to your users files

    Chris
    OptimumServers » Managed Dedicated Servers & General Systems Management » Coming Soon!
    ProWebUK - Quality Web Services
    DirectAdmin Server Checklist

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2,097
    Urchin was already installed on my server, I've followed the ssl instructions, restarted urchin, but I cannot use the https protocol. Only http works. Isn't there a place to tell urchin to run in secure mode?
    Olivier
    interfaCentre - We design custom hosting solutions

    Custom apps, scripts and configurations for easy and secure access to all hosting services
    Full Personal Information Management suite with mobile synchronisation
    PHP, Ruby, Node.js and Python hosting with 1-click app install

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2,097

    Fixed!

    Apparently we need to use the -e switch for restarts...

    #/usr/local/urchin/bin/urchinctl -e restart
    Olivier
    interfaCentre - We design custom hosting solutions

    Custom apps, scripts and configurations for easy and secure access to all hosting services
    Full Personal Information Management suite with mobile synchronisation
    PHP, Ruby, Node.js and Python hosting with 1-click app install

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,326
    Dont think you followed the guide completely

    under the https section there is:

    # pico -w /usr/local/urchin/util/urchin_daemons

    scroll down to line 35, you should see this:

    "$INSTALLDIR/bin/urchinctl" start

    Replace it with:

    "$INSTALLDIR/bin/urchinctl" -e start

    ===================

    follow the remainder of the guide and you will be able start using service urchin <OPTION>

    in some cases its urchind instaed of urchin.

    Chris
    OptimumServers » Managed Dedicated Servers & General Systems Management » Coming Soon!
    ProWebUK - Quality Web Services
    DirectAdmin Server Checklist

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2,097
    I did follow the guide, but even though the -e switch is in the urchin_deamons, using urchinctl without -e did not activate ssl.

    I just did a quick test again and I can confirm that it won't work without the -e switch in the command line.

    Maybe I have an error somewhere else....
    Olivier
    interfaCentre - We design custom hosting solutions

    Custom apps, scripts and configurations for easy and secure access to all hosting services
    Full Personal Information Management suite with mobile synchronisation
    PHP, Ruby, Node.js and Python hosting with 1-click app install

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,326
    once you have done that you need to move the binary if you have not already done so:

    cp /usr/local/urchin/util/urchin_daemons /etc/rc.d/init.d/urchin
    # chmod 755 /etc/rc.d/init.d/urchin

    once you have done that as i stated you can use

    service urchin start
    service urchin stop
    service urchin status

    is this what you are doing...?
    OptimumServers » Managed Dedicated Servers & General Systems Management » Coming Soon!
    ProWebUK - Quality Web Services
    DirectAdmin Server Checklist

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2,097
    Now that I've slept a bit, I see things more clearly

    I already had a:
    /usr/local/urchin/bin/urchinctl start
    in
    /etc/rc.d/rc.local

    and I didn't want to mess my current install, so I bypassed the last steps.

    I've added the -e in rc.local and I should be fine unless you tell me that having a urchin script in /etc/rc.d/init.d/ will improve my life (it will be easier to start/stop/restart, but is that it?).
    Olivier
    interfaCentre - We design custom hosting solutions

    Custom apps, scripts and configurations for easy and secure access to all hosting services
    Full Personal Information Management suite with mobile synchronisation
    PHP, Ruby, Node.js and Python hosting with 1-click app install

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,326
    Originally posted by interfasys
    Now that I've slept a bit, I see things more clearly

    I already had a:
    /usr/local/urchin/bin/urchinctl start
    in
    /etc/rc.d/rc.local

    and I didn't want to mess my current install, so I bypassed the last steps.

    I've added the -e in rc.local and I should be fine unless you tell me that having a urchin script in /etc/rc.d/init.d/ will improve my life (it will be easier to start/stop/restart, but is that it?).
    If you had a previous install, you should have simply run the installation in upgrade mode and then continued as normal. I have upgraded many servers from 4 > 5 with currently 100% success in both maintaining accounts passwords and statistics

    Chris
    OptimumServers » Managed Dedicated Servers & General Systems Management » Coming Soon!
    ProWebUK - Quality Web Services
    DirectAdmin Server Checklist

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2,097
    I had urchin5 installed for me when ordering the server and I think it's part of what's managed on my server, so I don't want to mess it up too much. I'm willing to change rc.local if there is a real advantage though.
    Olivier
    interfaCentre - We design custom hosting solutions

    Custom apps, scripts and configurations for easy and secure access to all hosting services
    Full Personal Information Management suite with mobile synchronisation
    PHP, Ruby, Node.js and Python hosting with 1-click app install

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,326
    If its part of your management get it done through your provider! if its included with your management you should be running urchin 5101 and if not they should at minimum upgrade upon request.

    If you have 5000 you can still upgrade to 5101, i have also run this upgrade as many times as i have run the 4>5 upgrades both upgrades are incredibly easy and quick - you keep your previous configuration etc just need the new binary etc and thats it.

    Chris
    OptimumServers » Managed Dedicated Servers & General Systems Management » Coming Soon!
    ProWebUK - Quality Web Services
    DirectAdmin Server Checklist

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2,097
    Yes I have version 5101. I only read this thread because I needed to turn on ssl.

    Now I've learned a thing or two =)
    Olivier
    interfaCentre - We design custom hosting solutions

    Custom apps, scripts and configurations for easy and secure access to all hosting services
    Full Personal Information Management suite with mobile synchronisation
    PHP, Ruby, Node.js and Python hosting with 1-click app install

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,326
    Originally posted by interfasys
    Yes I have version 5101. I only read this thread because I needed to turn on ssl.

    Now I've learned a thing or two =)
    pico -w /etc/rc.d/init.d/urchin

    scroll down to line 35, you should see this:

    "$INSTALLDIR/bin/urchinctl" start

    Replace it with:

    "$INSTALLDIR/bin/urchinctl" -e start




    Thats just doing the same thing another way around!

    Chris
    OptimumServers » Managed Dedicated Servers & General Systems Management » Coming Soon!
    ProWebUK - Quality Web Services
    DirectAdmin Server Checklist

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. DA won't load after fresh install
    By ababneh in forum Installation / System Requirements
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-19-2011, 07:56 PM
  2. Fresh install
    By kisiek in forum Installation / System Requirements
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-25-2011, 02:15 PM
  3. Something not right fresh install
    By Martyn Day in forum Installation / System Requirements
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-23-2009, 12:01 PM
  4. Fresh Install
    By txt3rob in forum Installation / System Requirements
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-22-2008, 03:44 PM
  5. fresh install
    By ralph in forum Debian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-29-2006, 11:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •