Program Developer

M3bik

Verified User
Hello.

I am looking to create a LAN based server, so I can develop programs locally. I would like to install DA on my server, so I can develop several DA programs. The server will not be accessed over the internet, nor will money be made with the use of this server. I am currently a student looking to learn more. The server's IP will be 192.168.0.185 which is a local IP, only accessable through my LAN.

Is it possible for me to get a license for my personal use on my LAN cheaply or will cost the same, even though it will not be made accessable over the internet?

Thanks.

Unfortunately you will need a public IP address to install DirectAdmin on. Currently they do not allow the installation of DA on private networks, only public. If you really want DA, I would suggest using a public IP address if you have one and bind it to a computer at your location or just rent a server with DA already installed.

They do not offer discounts for those developing 3rd party extensions. You'll have to buy a full license.

I'm just a student trying to learn as much as I can. :)

I am a senior in High school. I'm a member of a club called FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America) and placed 2nd in the state of Louisiana in Networking Concepts. I'm qualified to go to Nationals in Orlando, Florida... However, I do not have the money to do so.... :( I love to learn. Yet, I'm tired of school.... Ironic, isn't it?

Last edited:
Hello,

I understand where you are coming from (I was a senior in HS just last year!). Perhaps we can make a deal in where we lend you a server of ours so you can experiment on? Let me know if you are interested, just PM or email me!

We have one testbed server. It can be setup over and over again as necessary, but only on CentOS (RHEL) 3.3 (fully updated).

It's not always available, depending on our needs.

Jeff