Hsphere to DA

DamnSkippy

Verified User
I am looking to move a couple Hsphere reseller accounts to a dedicated box. It seems my only choice of CP is going to be DA or Cpanel. I have no experience with anything other than Hsphere, well webmin but that is not what I am looking for. I would stick with Hsphere except getting a dedicated, managed hsphere machine is at a minimum $400.00 a month and I was looking at about 200.00.

So I wanted to see if any of you have experience using Hsphere and could make some comparisons for me please.

Most of my clients are web designers and like to host multiple domains in one account to manage them. Most of them have multiple domain aliases of each domain to cover .com, .net, .org etc. Most of the sites they build are standard HTML with some flash but some use MySQL for forums and CMS's. Nothing special for requirements.

Mainly I am interested in the differences to the end user as I know you can not really compare Hsphere and DA entirely.

How does DA handle multiple domains? Does the directory structure make sense? Is it easy to manage multiple domains?

When you add a domain alias does it also create a mail domain alias?

Does the file manager have the ability to uncompress tarballs and zip files?

Things like that are what I am interested in.

Thanks for your input.

P.S. I have a thread over at WHT comparing it to CPanel also http://webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=496003

Each domain has it's own directory located in /home/username/domains/

The File Manager can extract tar files however we are still lacking zip file extraction.

Moving email from H-Sphere to DA may be a problem for you.

H-Sphere uses qmail, and Maildir.

While Maildir is available for DA, by default you get mbox.

So you'll have to convert your DA server to Maildir (lots of posts on these forums), and then figure out how to move the mailboxes.

Jeff