PDA

View Full Version : jailed cgi & ssh



jackc
04-29-2007, 02:55 AM
Would like to have this available in next version.
Thanks!:p

HanSieT
04-29-2007, 03:21 AM
+1 from me for this featurerequest

DLag
04-29-2007, 04:30 AM
Realy needed feature.
+1

floyd
04-29-2007, 05:46 AM
Its already available:

http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=90

GranTW
04-29-2007, 07:57 AM
Atm that's for apache 1.3 only. Also I believe it would be better integrated into this new build script if possible, but I don't think it's a priority and it certainly shouldn't be added until we have a stable release of this new script.

smtalk has done alot of work with this new build script, for DA and for the community, and I thank him for it.

smtalk
04-29-2007, 09:55 AM
Atm that's for apache 1.3 only. Also I believe it would be better integrated into this new build script if possible, but I don't think it's a priority and it certainly shouldn't be added until we have a stable release of this new script.

smtalk has done alot of work with this new build script, for DA and for the community, and I thank him for it.

Thank you GranTW, I really appreciate these words. About the custombuild script - 1.0 is feature frozen, so the new features will be only included into 1.1 version of it.

jackc
04-29-2007, 12:48 PM
http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=90
this one needs lots improvement.

waiting for 1.1
many thanks to smtalk too!:p

smtalk
04-29-2007, 02:31 PM
http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=90
this one needs lots improvement.

waiting for 1.1
many thanks to smtalk too!:p

Thanks. 1.1 will be released only a few weeks or a whole month after the release of PHP6. :)

floyd
04-29-2007, 02:42 PM
this one needs lots improvement.

Ok. Its working great for me as is but I am not using Apache 2 and Apache 2 was not mentioned prior to my comments so I didn't know that's what we were talking about.

jackc
04-29-2007, 03:01 PM
one problem I was experiencing is that after jailed, cgi scripts weren't able to resolve domains if they were required to connect to other sites.

floyd
04-29-2007, 03:06 PM
That make sense to me. I thought that was a feature of being jailed not a bug or problem. I thought that was what being jailed meant, that it was confined to itself. So as not to be accused of being a know-it-all let me say now that I am not sure but that is what I believed.

GranTW
04-29-2007, 04:34 PM
That make sense to me. I thought that was a feature of being jailed not a bug or problem. I thought that was what being jailed meant, that it was confined to itself. So as not to be accused of being a know-it-all let me say now that I am not sure but that is what I believed.


I believe he means that scripts like php can't open remote locations, eg. fopen("http://www.example.com/", "r")

Maybe this is because of /etc/resolve.conf

I don't know because I haven't tried jailed users.

floyd
04-29-2007, 04:56 PM
Jailed cgi should not affect php scripts at all unless the php script is being run as a cgi. Most php scripts are run as an apache module and I would not think they would be affected by jailed cgi.

jackc
04-29-2007, 05:32 PM
dig works fine, wget, ping and others can't resolve.
This problem was confirmed by John, but is not fixed yet.

floyd
04-30-2007, 04:33 AM
dig works fine, wget, ping and others can't resolve.

Is this true for mod_php or just cgi?

jackc
04-30-2007, 11:03 AM
Just cgi and ssh.