temp adress for addon domains

nappa

Verified User
What is the address for domains that are added on ? I know that the main user address is http://I.P/~username, but I would like to know what the other addresses are.

If there is not one, can you tell me how I can make some ? Thanks :)

Right now you can only preview one domain (the main domain) before DNS propagation. :)

Mark

I am an admin, so I can edit the apache conf. So maybe this shoudl be moved to the admin forum ?

nappa said:
is it possible to manually add entires into apache to show the site at also : http://IP/~username/domain.com ? Even if it is a jury rigged solution for now, I would like to do this for one person.

NAPPA

For a temp solution at shell:

ln -s /home/username/domains/parkeddomain.com/public_html /home/username/public_html/domain.com

That should make it viewable as you wish...

The Prohacker said:
For a temp solution at shell:

ln -s /home/username/domains/parkeddomain.com/public_html /home/username/public_html/domain.com

That should make it viewable as you wish...
Yeah, I had to do that a while back too. It works.

Or actually, I used this:

ln -s /home/username/domains/parkeddomain.com/public_html /home/username/public_html

(DirectAdmin uses the symbolic public_html link in your home directory to route http://IP/~username/ requests.)

If you want to change ~username to ~username/domain.com

you can simply remove the public_html symbolic link, create a public_html directory in its place, then create symbolic links as domain.com pointing to where ever you want.

cd /home/username
rm public_html
mkdir public_html
cd public_html
ln -s ../domains/domain.com/public_html domain.com
ln -s ../domains/otherdomain.com/public_html otherdomain.com

John

Thanks everyone :) I've done the very first method on this thread. Is it possible to request this be made automatic ?