New to admin

donkeyKICK

Verified User
I am new to being an admin. Never really wanted to be one, but due to problems with responsiveness of my previous provieders, I decided it was time that I just did alot of this stuff myself.

That puts me in an interesting spot. It seems that it would be better to learn as much about DA as possible, and stay out of the root. Less likely to break something thatway.

I've setup a test box, just to practice on because root seems to dangerous to go poking around in.

That being said, intuitively it would seem learning a cp first, then going deeper as necessary would be the way to go, but I've been told the reverse. I'm just looking for insight here as to what seems to be the best way to learn. I learned visual basic, then Java, then c++, then nasm, starting higher up and then working my way down. This isn't the way to learn this sort of thing?

Last edited:
A control panel cannot do everything for you.

DirectAdmin is more limited than some; it expects you to be a fairly comfortable systems administrator (note, I said comfortable, though I personally believe competent as well.

Years ago hosting was simple and you could probably use all the defaults. Today our needs, and those of our clients, go a bit deeper than that.

Should DA include everything for everyone? That would be a nice goal; it would probably make the system even more complex than it is, and probably make it more expensive than it is.

Years ago I (and others from this forum) used the old Cobalt Raq hosting appliances, and we generally used only the control panel, but if you read the historical log archives of the cobalt-users list you'll find that most of us eventually learned how to use admin skills.

If you're willing to live with defaults, then you probably don't need those admin skills.