PDA

View Full Version : dovecot (unknown user)



alexey.world
09-25-2007, 02:12 AM
Sep 25 10:56:55 de4 dovecot[19707]: auth(default): shadow(****@domen.ru,8.250.71.50): unknown user
Sep 25 10:56:55 de4 dovecot[19707]: auth(default): passwd(****@domen.ru,8.250.71.50): unknown user
Sep 25 10:56:55 de4 dovecot[19707]: pop3-login: Login: user=<****@domen.ru>, method=PLAIN, rip=8.250.71.50, lip=8.118.11.110
Sep 25 10:59:19 de4 dovecot[19707]: POP3(****@domen.ru): Disconnected: Logged out top=14/16328, retr=14/1138457, del=14/14, size=1138199
Sep 25 10:59:19 de4 dovecot[19707]: auth(default): shadow(****@domen.ru,8.250.71.50): unknown user
Sep 25 10:59:19 de4 dovecot[19707]: auth(default): passwd(****@domen.ru,8.250.71.50): unknown user
Why?

alexey.world
09-25-2007, 03:49 AM
/etc/dovecot.conf
# More verbose logging. Useful for figuring out why authentication isn't
# working.
auth_verbose = yes

to
# More verbose logging. Useful for figuring out why authentication isn't
# working.
#auth_verbose = yes

pucky
09-26-2007, 07:58 PM
/etc/dovecot.conf
# More verbose logging. Useful for figuring out why authentication isn't
# working.
auth_verbose = yes

to
# More verbose logging. Useful for figuring out why authentication isn't
# working.
#auth_verbose = yes

Very helpful, thanks. Been looking for this answer for a very long time. Im surprised that new installations / upgrades to dovecot leave this field uncommented for no reason.

hkr
09-17-2008, 03:39 AM
Hello,

I have the same problem. Is setting dovecot not to log this error indeed a fix, or is it just meant to hide a problem from the log? ;-)

One of my users reported a problem with POP3 and this is why I wanted to investigate the log. And as there were several such "user unknown" messages in he log, I tried a lot of things, but the error is still there...

smtalk
09-17-2008, 06:58 AM
http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=175

dm800pvr
09-24-2015, 07:41 AM
http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=175

non of these method works
still not getting sending emails and only it doesn't set logs nothing more!