Partition for DA install

Barney

Verified User
I could use some expert partition advise.

I have a red hat 9.0 , on a p4 3.02ghz, 1g ram with 2 hard drives.

The 1st hard drive is 160gb
The 2nd hard drive is 200gb

The basic partition for direct admin c panel is

/boot 40 meg
/dev/shm 2 x memory
/ rest of drive

Do i set this on the 1st hard drive? Do i have the hard drives set backwards?

I would like to use the other hard drive as a back up drive, so what would be my best partition for each hard drive to make direct admin sucessfully install and the system to run?

Many thanks in advance.

I am no expert on RH but many users seem to partition the lazy way with just a /root and /swap. The way I do it is something like the following but someone can help me out with this if I messed up the partitions for RH:

/ 1GB
/boot 100mb
/swap 2xRam
/var ~10GB
/usr remaining

I am not 100% sure but I think you might want to make the /usr like 3GB and adding /home as the remaining rather than above.

it would help knowing which hard drive gets which partition.

thumbs up

The 160 would be the best choice. You know you can never run out of space on the 200. You could get creative and have DA backup automatically to the spare drive.

ok here goes

my first hd , the 160gb will be partioned as

/boot 100M
/usr 8192M
/var 8192M
/tmp 1024M
swap (x2 RAM, Max 2048M)
/home fill to disk

then what do i use to partition the 2nd hd, 200gb?

i am using the disk druid from red hat 9.

What are you going to do with the second drive?

If you're only going to use it for backups, then create one 200G partition.

I'd definitely create /var/log on the second drive, though; logging is a lot faster (and doesn't slow down the system as much) when it's on a second physical drive.

Another note, the instructions everyone continues to quote on swap being twice the memory are old and outdated.