[1st ANNOUNCEMENT] Virus-Filter/Blocker

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
[1st ANNOUNCEMENT] VirusChecker

Having finished SpamBlocker, I've decided to move along and get ExiScan, and Virus Filtering into the mix as soon as possible.

Note: Edited 06/22/2004 to rename the new product VirusChecker.

With that thought in mind I'm recommissioning my testbed DA server and installing on it an old domain for an ISP that has since gone out of business. It is, as you might imagine, a wonderful test domain for spamblocking and virus-checking, as it has tons of non-existing users who continue to get lots of spam and viruses.

I have some questions... what do YOU want in VirusChecker?

What I'd like to know is what most DA admins want to do with emails infected with viruses... do you want to dump them, refuse them, or pass them on to users but somehow marked.

Obviously my free DA distributions will be simple, because after all what I do for a living is sell this sort of stuff (for years for Cobalt RaQs, then for Plesk, and now for DA as well); only about 10% of my income is actually from hosting.

But I would like for my free releases to "just work" and work well for people who want to use them.

So...

What do you really want VirusChecker to do?

Please reply here rather than by email or by PM; I'd like to see the results all in one place if possible.

Thanks for your input, so I can make sure this new release does what YOU want.

Jeff

Last edited:
Well, we are using ClamAV and MailScanner and it function's fine. When a infected e-mail is comming on the server, it wil get the virus out of the e-mail and still send it to the user with some note's of what happend.

With spam it will only apply the [***SPAM***] into the subject.