DA on XEN VPS port 2222

wildun

Verified User
Hi All,
I am new to vps hosting so bare with me and after this on day 2. I have hypervn with xen up and running. I created a vps with the default xen centos 5 template and installed DA on it. The ip for the server shows apache running ( 97.89.188.132) but when I try access it using port 2222 can't connect. I have the port open with the main centos os firewall and selinux turned off as root but it appears to still be blocked to the vps. Best I can tell the minimal centos os does not have a firewall as iptable commands say not installed. What am I missing?
Thanks,
Paul

The first thing you're missing is that apache doesn't run on port 2222. Check to make sure your directadmin daemon is running.

Jeff

Hi,
Sorry if I was unclear. Apache is running on port 80 as it should be. The problem is accessing Directadmin on port 2222 via the ip it is installed on. The port is open on the main OS. I can access the xen panel on it's respective port 8887. I'm trying to determine if possibly XEN has the port 2222 blocked and if so how to get it opened. As I said I'm new to XEN and have not been able to find anything that says the port would be blocked by it or not. I posted in the general topic as it is not a direct DA issue, but it involves DA.
Thanks,
Paul

I dont see how it would be any different then if it was a standalone server. Check iptables.

/sbin/service iptables stop

Then see if you still have the problem.

I'm going to rebuild the vps with a different os template and renstall DA as I see an issue that DA pid is running but DA is dead. The stop command will not kill the pid. Rebooting the vps does not kill the pid. I used the default centos template for the vps originally. I'll post back with the results.