PDA

View Full Version : Directory Browsing



xcensus
07-04-2004, 11:04 AM
directory browsing is on. So that someone can type a path to a folder and see its contents. Thatís bad. I donít want to have to password protect it because I want to link to certain files directly within that folder. My current host has an option to turn off directory browsing and I donít see one here.

How do I turn the ability to browse directories off ?

Thanx

DirectAdmin Support
07-04-2004, 02:25 PM
Hello,

Create an .htaccess file in your public_html with

Options -Indexes

John

nobaloney
07-04-2004, 04:27 PM
Originally posted by xcensus
directory browsing is on. So that someone can type a path to a folder and see its contents. Thatís bad. I donít want to have to password protect it because I want to link to certain files directly within that folder. My current host has an option to turn off directory browsing and I donít see one here.
Directory browsing is set in the sererwide /httpd.conf file.

We leave ours to not allow directory browsing; while I'm not sure, I've always thought that was the DirectAdmin default.

How do I turn the ability to browse directories off ?
If you don't own your own copy of DirectAdmin you might want to mention it to your hosting company; they might want to turn off directory browsing for everyone and require you to use .htaccess; that's a more secure option.

Jeff

DirectAdmin Support
07-06-2004, 10:47 AM
Note: I think that with ~username, browsing is on and via domain.com it's off. I've changed our defaut httpd.conf to set "Options -Indexes" (no browsing) in the <Directotry /home/*> setting.

John

wilec
08-09-2004, 09:59 AM
now this is set by default in Directadmin
Our dedicated suer wants direcotry browsing.

how do we turn that off. If we change it will it revert back on upgrades to DA?

nobaloney
08-09-2004, 08:10 PM
What's a "dedicated user"?

Do you mean he has his own system?

If so, you or he can create a template file to change how httpd.conf fill be written; I don't remember right now how to do it, but you can probably find it in these forums or on the "http://help.directadmin.com/" website.

If not, then your client can always create an .htaccess file in each public_html with

Options +Indexes

Jeff

jmstacey
08-10-2004, 04:47 PM
If you make the modification to the users httpd.conf file it will reset anytime the user uses DA to change his apache, domain etc settings.

wilec
08-10-2004, 04:53 PM
the .htaccess did the trick

thanks very much:p