Discussion about revision of some checks in Spamblocker 4

Dennis

Verified User
Hi Jeff,

Here are my thoughts about the checks in the first part of the exim.conf. I am beginning at the "# Access Control Lists"-part. The info before the checks are well thought of and do not need te be changed, in my opinion.
I am not an email expert I am just looking through the process, all credits go to Jeff for setting this up in the first place :)

I am not going to copy and past the readme file so open it with this post: Readme and the exim.conf

Still I will begin at the beginning of email handling to make the process complete:
The very first thing of email is to make a connection with the email server and that is on ports 25 and/or 587. Host/IP lookup and RFC1413 are necessary to already prevent wrong communication and time consuming actions.

#EDIT25
The part where it counts starts here. These are the HELO messages the other server is sending. This is the second step otherwise there is no communication. So if this is bogus already, close the connection, which it does. I have read the post in the readme and the checks are all there so well thought of and no change.

#EDIT26
Check of recipients are needed now. The first check is illegal parts of the address. I think after this deny all other things first before checking any authentication. So the "# Deny all Mailer-Daemon messages not for us:" and "# Deny if the recipient doesn't exist:" before the authentication on port 587. If it is already a false address why authenticate it first?
The last check "# Remaining Mailer-Daemon messages must be for us" moves after #EDIT 42, after all the blacklist and whitelist checks are done. If it still is a Mailer-Daemon for us then deliver it. A customer of mine pointed out that the mail said it was blocked by spamlists but he still got it...I had no good explanation for that :)

#EDIT27