Newbie's first steps on database

vathile

Hello World! :D

I'm a newbie searching help regarding creating a login page with some pages associate to it 8registration form, error page on invalid password and / or user name etc. I've found a set of asp files with a mdb MSAccess database associated, modified it for my needs, test it on my local IIS server, found it working and upload it to my locahost in the public_html folder, where you stay on your head but it want work even with prays :) In the first place, it looks all the same different by the 'original' that works on my server.
True, it has an dbconnection.inc file that specifies some variable strings needed for connecting asp scripts to mdb database but even modifying it in any way possible wouldn't work ... so I cry for

HEEEELP ANYONE!!!!

1) Are you a domain owner or reseller, or do you own a DA system where you have full admin and shell rights including the ability to become root?

If not, you won't be able to figure out the answers to my next questions and after reading them you might want to talk to your hosting provider's tech support department.

2) Are you aware that DirectAdmin only works on linux and unix servers? If you're hosting with DirectAdmin, then you're NOT using an IIS server, but rather an Apache server.

2) Does your server include the Apache ASP module?

3) What language is your ASP program written in? The Apache ASP module is quite limited in terms of what it can parse.

4) No linux webserver can run MSAccess. Are you trying to connect to an MSAccess database on the server? If so, that will most certainly fail.

5) Are you trying to connect to an MSAccess database on another server? While that could work, it's a complex procedure well beyond the scope of help on the DA forums.

6) Did you rewrite all the code so your ASP program is trying to connect to a MySQL database on your server? If so then what error message are you getting?

Jeff

To begin with ... thanks for you're reply!