Free Forum script advice?

FAF

Verified User
Hi

I'm looking for a nice forum script for an upcoming project. I have vacuumed the web for advices, security, etc. I've found several solutions but one stands out, and that is NodeBB. It looks nice and I can run it from a small KVM instance.

Have someone here tried NodeBB? If yes, what distribution did you install it on? Do you have experience with other free forum solutions, which are secure and maintained? I know that there is a new phpBB available, but I hesitate because of the fact, that phpBB does not have the best reputation and that it has been compromised allot during the years, I might be wrong, but that is my impression. At one point I ran a forum on Phorum, but it was too plain and did not live up to my expectations.

Advice please? Thank you in advance.

I have been running a number of phpBB-forums for over 8+ years now without any 'being compromised' issues.
Spammers, yes there have been a few occassionally, but they have them as well on the paid forums.
With some good questions during the registration you can weed out the 99% of the fake members upfront.

Last edited:
Thank you for your reply. Are you now using phpBB 3.1.2? Yes, I made two or three phpBB installs during the years, and I would like to try it again, just not sure if I can keep up with maintenance with all the bots out there, but if you can rule out 99% up-front, then I'm willing to try yet another install. It's nice that it is PHP based, It's familiar. Thank you so very much, appreciate it.

I haven't done any hardening on the phpbb-forums. I recently updated one of the forums to the most current one, the others are still a few versions behind.
Since I've been running my own server I've disabled dangerous php-functions, but never had any issues before either.

Just once in a couple of weeks orso I get a succesful fake-user registration on one forum that reposts a copy of an older post on the forum.