Eliminating confusion

disoft

Verified User
Hi,

I'm quite new to DA (a week or so - previously cPanel) and, as chance would have it, I also have a new OS (FreeBSD 4.10 - previously RH 9), so I'm suffering from some confusion about how the two integrate.

Of particular confusion to me is what is upgraded by DA and what isn't. Take Exim for example: a search of the posts on here variously states that DA upgrades Exim for us and yet other posts have us downloading files and upgrading it ourselves.

If, for example, I want to upgrade to exim 4.44, what do I do? Specifically, I have the following questions:

(1) Do I run just tell DA to 'Update DirectAdmin' in the GUI and then expect that to get all the latest builds?

(2) Do I download things like the Exim upgrade script (the one provided by DA) to some special directory and then run some special program to upgrade them?

(3) How does DA tally with the ports system. For example, lets assume I installed a package via ports, where could I find out how to make that install DA-compatable?

Okay, in reality I think (1) is incorrect and I think that for (2) I'd download the new files /usr/local/directadmin/scripts/packages, twiddle the appropriate install script in /usr/local/directadmin/scripts to specify the new version and run it. Does that sound about right?

Regarding point (3) is there some documentation on this?

Nothing is automaticaly updated by DA this is up 2 you.

Check the version update thread for more info on wich package and how to update.

Okay, thanks. I was mislead by this from DA sales:

DirectAdmin keeps itself updated, and also automatically updates software like Exim and ProftpD.

In thread: http://www.directadmin.com/forum/showthread.php?&threadid=6242

I did the update with a pkg_delete and a pkg_add in the end, so that's cleared things up a bit.