Custom Name Servers

D9R

Verified User
I have a reseller account. Within that account I have a site for my hosting business -- let's call it myhostingbusiness.com.

I want the DNS settings at the registrar for myhostingbusiness.com to be:
ns1.myhostingbusiness.com
ns2.myhostingbusiness.com

And I want the DNS settings that I tell my clients to use to also be the 2 I just listed.

I only have one IP address to use and it's already for the server so I can't assign 2 IPs as described here: http://reseller.site-helper.com/nameserver.html

I've experimented with changing the NS settings within the user account as described here: http://www.site-helper.com/dns.html but I'm not sure exactly what's going on or why it will work.

Everyone says to just create new nameservers and point them to the old nameservers. Sounds good but I'm not clear on how to do that. Would anyone mind walking me through the procedure as though I'm a complete newbee? (I know a little bit but not a lot.)

re nameservers

:confused:
We have been having exactly the same problem. I have wrote asking for 2 new ip addresses which i can use for customising nameservers. I'm sure this is what we need to go ahead.

re name servers

I just heard back from my hosting company. We have to use the same ip's that were sent in our welcome email even though that looks like it already has a nameserver.

ns1.yourdomain.com ip = number originally givern

Hello,

All DA does is adds records to your dns zone. To create a nameserver on the same IP, just add 2 A reocords into your dns zone for your domain, both pointing to the same IP.

Admin Panel -> Dns Admin -> domain.com -> add A records pointing to the ip.

ns1 -> 1.2.3.4
ns2 -> 1.2.3.4

John

Are you saying I should create 2 new A Records that look like:

ns1.mybusiness.net. => ##.###.##.##1 (original IP for NS1)
ns2.mybusiness.net. => ##.###.##.##2 (original IP for NS2)