PDA

View Full Version : How would I...



AtomicRax
11-04-2003, 01:33 PM
Ok, here's the deal. I have the domains atomicrax.com and atomicrax.net The .net domain is setup on my server and has my website. I want to point the .com to the .net but I want it to keep the .com extension. How would I do this?

My first thought would be a CNAME. How ever, wouldn't I need a dedicated IP? My second idea is that I add the domain like normal, but edit the httpd.conf and point the domain to the same folder as the .net domain.

I would also like to create email accounts on both the .net and the .com

Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks.

ProWebUK
11-04-2003, 01:52 PM
use httpd conf, your normal httpd.conf for a site should have a section similar to what i have below:



ServerName www.domain.com

ServerAdmin admin@domain.com


you need toadd the following bold section:



ServerName www.domain.com
ServerAlias domain.net \
domain.net www.domain.net
ServerAdmin admin@domain.com


now both domains will be identical, although FTP, Mail and everything else will be collected through the main domain (in the example - domain.com)

Hope this helps,
Chris

ProWebUK
11-04-2003, 01:57 PM
While we are at it, can someone with a DA box or the DA staff tell me where individual sites virtualhost configs are kept? as soon as I know their location i will write up a quick howto as this seems to be getting a more common question every week :D

DirectAdmin Support
11-04-2003, 10:57 PM
I'm starting to think "new feature" to resolve it. No sense in patching something that should have a feature :)

paths to httpd.conf's are:
/usr/local/directadmin/data/users/username/httpd.conf

but remember you can't modify them, cus they are rewritten all the time. It either has to be figured out through the templates or the "custom httpd.conf" feature. I'll need to do some tests.. hopefully, *.domain.com is used as a last resort to sub.domain.com, even if sub.domain.com is AFTER *.domain.com in the httpd.conf files.... if that's the case, then all that will need to be done is to add *.|DOMAIN| into the template's ServerAlias field...

John