Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Webalizer don't update. (FreeBSD)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6

    Webalizer doesnt update. (FreeBSD)

    Hi,

    First, i have search the forum, but doesn't come to an ansfer
    The problem: Webalizer doesn't update.
    I'm running 200+ domains...
    I have try the command webalizer, the output:


    Webalizer V2.01-10 (FreeBSD 6.2-RELEASE) English
    Using logfile STDIN (clf)
    Creating output in current directory
    Hostname for reports is 'web01.I]domain[/I].nl'
    History file not found...

    Then hang te server, and when i'm push ENTER, see i this error:
    Warning: Truncating oversized hostname
    Skipping bad record (1)
    Warning: Truncating oversized username
    Skipping bad record (2)
    Warning: Truncating oversized username
    Skipping bad record (3)
    Warning: Truncating oversized username
    Skipping bad record (4)
    Warning: Truncating oversized username
    Skipping bad record (5)
    Warning: Truncating oversized username
    Skipping bad record (6)

    And:

    /usr/bin/webalizer -p -n domain.com -o /home/user/domains/domain.com/stats /var/log/httpd/domains/domain.com.log
    /usr/bin/webalizer: Command not found.

    web01# echo "action=tally&value=all" >> /usr/local/directadmin/data/task.queue
    (no output)

    cd /usr/local/directadmin/customapache
    ./build webalizer
    Does'nt work...

    /usr/local/bin/webalizer : Command not found.


    And as last: Direct admin says:


    File does not exist



    Details

    You must wait for the stats to be computed. This will only happen *after* logs exist (domain must resolve and be used).

    Info for Admins: Downloading a new webalizer binary


    And this have i tried many times...

    Edit: I found an new strange error, /usr/bin/webalizer, says:
    ELF binary type "0" not known.
    /usr/local/bin/webalizer: Exec format error. Binary file not executable.
    Last edited by Dirk Jan; 08-27-2007 at 03:32 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    129
    i have the same problem how to fix this?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    26,122
    elf binaries are used by linux. Generally not for FreeBSD.

    Hmmmmm...

    Install did something wrong? Or you did, when you used a new binary?

    Jeff
    +1 951 643-5345
    Third-Party DirectAdmin administration and support
    Dedicated Servers, Dedicated Reseller Accounts
    NoBaloney Internet Services div. Qnito Incorporated
    848 North Rainbow Blvd., Suite #3789
    Las Vegas, NV 89107-1103

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    129
    my webalizer does'nt work totaly:

    server1# webalizer
    Webalizer V2.01-10 (FreeBSD 6.2-STABLE) English
    Using logfile STDIN (clf)
    Creating output in current directory
    Hostname for reports is 'server1.*.be'
    History file not found...

    Name Creator Bandwidth Disk Usage # of Domains Suspended IP Domain(s) Select
    historics alex 0 / 15000 212.5 / 1000 1 / unlimited No 86.39.128.91 opelhistorics.be

    bandwidth is not counted:

    in juni it stopped counting ...

    anyone knows a solution

    Greets,
    Alex

  5. #5
    Hello,

    1) Firstly, if you type "webalizer", and you see the following:
    Code:
    server1# webalizer
    Webalizer V2.01-10 (FreeBSD 6.2-STABLE) English
    Using logfile STDIN (clf)
    Creating output in current directory
    Hostname for reports is 'server1.*.be'
    History file not found...
    then your binary is working fine, don't recompile

    DirectAdmin doesn't just run "webalizer", it runs a whole series of command line options to tell webalizer what to do. Just running "webalizer" only tells us that it's there, is responding and should work when DA calls it.

    Possible causes of not seeing any webalizer stats:
    2) - the most common, crond not installed/working, thus preventing the task.queue from being processed, in turn preventing tallies/stats updates:
    http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=107

    3) - if the task.queue is being processed, then make sure that your domains actually resolve to your sever. Webalizer needs something to work on.
    Check:
    /var/log/httpd/domains/domain.com.log
    to ensure that it's being filled with log data (look inside the log). If not, either the domain doesn't resolve there, or maybe the CustomLog option is not in your virtualhost in your httpd.conf file.

    4) - a less common cause is if the use is not present in his creators users.list file, so DA doesn't know he exists, thus he doesn't get tallied.
    Check:
    /usr/local/directadmin/data/users/creator/users.list
    where creator can be admin, or the name of the reseller that created the user.

    5) - Make sure the webalizer binary is in the correct spot:
    Freebsd: /usr/local/bin/webalizer
    Debian/Redhat: /usr/bin/webalizer

    6) - If you get weird binary errors when you run "webalizer" (and you don't see the above output), then before trying to recompile, you'd want to download a new binary:
    http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=63
    They're all from http://files.directadmin.com/services in the related OS folder.

    7) - If you still get binary errors, even after downloading a new binary, then it's possible the binaries just dont get along with your system. You can either use a package system like "yum install webalizer" to install it, or compile your own with the build script. Note that the build script only compiles webalizer if the binary does not exists, so if you've got a broken binary there, delete it first before running "./build webalizer".

    8) - Try running the webalizer command manually to compute the stats to check for any errors:
    Code:
    webalizer -p -n domain.com -o /home/username/domains/domain.com/stats /var/log/httpd/domains/domain.com.log
    9) - the least common problem, but that has happend is when the admin tries to get too fancy with the custom templates and breaks webalizer.
    If you have:
    /usr/local/directadmin/data/templates/custom/webalizer.conf
    try deleting it, then run the tally again. It's likely you've added an option that webalizer chokes on.


    That about covers all possible things that can prevent you from seeing your webalizer stats

    John

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    129
    hey,

    thanks for that great post

    i found out some more info

    - a less common cause is if the use is not present in his creators users.list file, so DA doesn't know he exists, thus he doesn't get tallied.
    Check:
    /usr/local/directadmin/data/users/creator/users.list
    where creator can be admin, or the name of the reseller that created the user.

    this is the problem i see logins where webalizer works and users where it doesn't work

    is there a way to fix this problem?

    Greets,
    Alex

  7. #7
    Simply add the missing user to his creator's users.list file.

    John

    Edit: See this to rebuild all users.list files

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    129
    is'nt there another solution?

    because i have to find out who added thoes users etc
    Greets,
    Alex

  9. #9
    The creator of the user is stored in the user's user.conf file.
    Look for "creator=name", where name is the username of the creator, eg "admin" or the Reseller, etc.

    John

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    129
    ok thanks

    Greets

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    129
    ok it works thanks ;-)

    Greets,

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    182
    Ok, I am having the same issue where I can get webalizer to build the stats if I run it manually via SSH

    /usr/bin/webalizer -p -n domain -o /home/user/domains/domain.com/stats /var/log/httpd/domains/domain.com.log

    This works but it is not doing it automatically?!

    Also how do I get the users to see the /stats folder if it is one up from the public_html folder?

    Thanks,
    Phil
    ---
    Philip M. McDonnell
    Black Cat Technologies
    www.blackcattech.com

  13. #13
    see post #5 above, it covers pretty much everything.
    Also, check to see if the tally is actually being processed for each user in the /var/log/directadmin/system.log. (would be related to the users.list bit)

    As for making it show up in public_html/stats, go to:
    User Level -> Site Summary/Stats/Logs
    Check the domain and create the /stats link in the table.

    John

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Sweden / Varberg
    Posts
    97

    no log files and webalizer data

    I have one user, good one.... but for him (not for all users) no log files are created, they are zero. Have been looking at this post, but everything seen to be ok. Its old user so his stat worked until 28 mars and then just stop, everything zero. I can not find anything special that happened on that date....

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    8
    I solved mine this way :

    well ... I've tried every thing posted but nothing helped.
    so I went to "log" folder on each domain and deleted the log file with the creation date which Webalizer stopped working on.
    in my case it was Sep 13 2008
    I removed it
    then updated webalizer : http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=63
    and walla .. worked

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    518
    I've always an error when I try to solve webalizer problem

    Code:
    # webalizer -p -n domain.com -o /home/echecsme/domains/chess.biz.st/stats /var/log/httpd/domains/chess.biz.st.log
    Webalizer V2.01-10 (Linux 2.6.38.2-grsec-xxxx-grs-ipv6-64) English
    Using logfile /var/log/httpd/domains/chess.biz.st.log (clf)
    Creating output in /home/echecsme/domains/chess.biz.st/stats
    Hostname for reports is 'domain.com'
    Reading history file... webalizer.hist
    Reading previous run data.. webalizer.current
    Error: Unable to restore run data (99)

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    518
    To solve this problem, it seems we have to delete
    /home/username/domains/*/stats/webalizer.hist
    /home/username/domains/*/stats/webalizer.current

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    788
    Another issue:

    2013:03:18-00:34:39: Unable to run webalizer for *********: libpng warning: Application was compiled with png.h from libpng-1.5.14
    libpng warning: Application is running with png.c from libpng-1.2.50
    gd-png: fatal libpng error: Incompatible libpng version in application and library

  19. #19
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    788
    Recompiled PHP (and GD), then webalizer and it is fixed. I don't know how I ended up with libpng-1.2.50 (obviously before it was libpng-1.5.14).

Similar Threads

  1. Update webalizer don't work
    By Arie in forum CustomBuild
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-12-2010, 03:49 PM
  2. Webalizer doesn't update
    By dreamline in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-08-2009, 09:12 PM
  3. Webalizer don't update!
    By spirit in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-08-2008, 03:59 AM
  4. no webalizer for freebsd 6.2?
    By SimpleX in forum FreeBSD 6.x
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-02-2007, 04:20 PM
  5. How do I make webalizer work with Freebsd 6.1 ?
    By johnnyborga in forum FreeBSD 6.x
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-04-2007, 11:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •