Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: how to: remove iconv?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    367

    how to: remove iconv?

    I was using customapache, but due to problems with frontpage (my clients need it), I have had to go back to apache 1.3.x, which I tried to do with custombuild, but it never did work correctly.

    So I went back to customapache, which worked. However, now it seems that every time I install anything else (exim, spamassassin, php, etc) it fails with problems with libiconv errors.

    I'm not sure what Iconv does, and I lived fine without it previously, so I'm hoping someone can tell me how to get rid of this beast. I'm not sure even what happens, but it appears that maybe iconv replaces gcc libraries??? I have no idea to be honest, I just know Iconv is not my friend.

    TIA
    Just another squirrel trying to get a nut

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    118
    Quote Originally Posted by jw00dy View Post
    I was using customapache, but due to problems with frontpage (my clients need it), I have had to go back to apache 1.3.x, which I tried to do with custombuild, but it never did work correctly.

    So I went back to customapache, which worked. However, now it seems that every time I install anything else (exim, spamassassin, php, etc) it fails with problems with libiconv errors.

    I'm not sure what Iconv does, and I lived fine without it previously, so I'm hoping someone can tell me how to get rid of this beast. I'm not sure even what happens, but it appears that maybe iconv replaces gcc libraries??? I have no idea to be honest, I just know Iconv is not my friend.

    TIA
    For Custombuild:
    cd /usr/local/directadmin/custumbuild/configure/ap2
    nano configure.php4 (or configure.php5)
    --> remove: '--with-iconv=*****\'
    Rebuild php
    Restart httpd

    For Customapache:
    cd /usr/local/directadmin/custumapache
    nano configure.php_ap2
    --> remove: '--with-iconv \'
    Rebuild php
    Restart httpd

    nb: Apache 2.0.61 does support frontpage_extentions. So use this reather than de letacy version 1.3.x.
    IF YOU THINK A PROFESSIONAL IS EXPENSIVE, WAIT 'TIL YOU SEE WHAT AN AMATEUR CAN COST YOU!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    367
    Thank you. what I ended up doing was adding --with-iconv .... \ to the customapache build script and that seems to have fixed it.

    I actually tried to upgrade to ap2 (2.0) with the DA upgrade script, and it gave me all sorts of errors about my virtual hosts. None of them worked either.

    So I'm back to 1.3 and working fine.
    Just another squirrel trying to get a nut

Similar Threads

  1. iconv help
    By Hanan in forum Installation / System Requirements
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-11-2007, 09:13 AM
  2. error installing iconv on apache 2.2
    By jackc in forum Apache (WWW)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-23-2007, 05:43 PM
  3. iconv,help
    By aryou in forum Installation / System Requirements
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-08-2007, 06:43 AM
  4. How-to php extensions (iconv)
    By itactician in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-19-2006, 03:17 AM
  5. iconv does not work
    By tonikas in forum MySQL / PHP
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-16-2005, 06:06 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •