Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 41 to 53 of 53

Thread: What's taking so long for FreeBSD 7 ?

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    82
    With a bit of hoop jumping its quite possible to run DA on a server and manage just about everything with ports, the exception I've got at the moment is exim which I'm still running from the da_exim pkg, vm-pop3d isn't an issue we're using Dovecot and proftpd seems fine straight from ports. The biggest hoop was apache, but we compromised on /usr/local/etc/apache22 and its config then including the ips.conf and /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf just having the Include lines for the virtual hosts.

    We've only done this on one server though, after that management opted for FedorianOSHat instead and someone else now gets to manage them, I handle our internal systems (FreeBSD) manually.

    Only thing I'm now wondering is if a portupgrade update of perl to 5.8.9 is going to break Exim at all. It looks like /usr/sbin/exim is statically linked but I'm still a bit apprehensive.

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    151
    Despite DA not using the ports system on FreeBSD I do get messages from portaudit, like

    Affected package: proftpd-1.3.1
    Type of problem: proftpd -- Long Command Processing Vulnerability.
    Reference: <http://www.FreeBSD.org/ports/portaudit/0f51f2c9-8956-11dd-a6fe-0030843d3802.html>

    Affected package: freetype2-2.3.5
    Type of problem: FreeType 2 -- Multiple Vulnerabilities.
    Reference: <http://www.FreeBSD.org/ports/portaudit/4fb43b2f-46a9-11dd-9d38-00163e000016.html>

    Affected package: png-1.2.23_1
    Type of problem: png -- unknown chunk processing uninitialized memory access.
    Reference: <http://www.FreeBSD.org/ports/portaudit/57c705d6-12ae-11dd-bab7-0016179b2dd5.html>

    So despite not being installed via the ports, they are registered? It's a bit odd to have portaudit report this and then not be able to update them via the ports, just in case something gets broken (compilation wise or config wise).

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    46
    yeah i also had portupgrade report this ports...

    guys also check after rebuilding the directadmin to not relink the libiconv.so to another libiconv, that can render your system useless by segfaulting csh.
    check the link in /usr/local/lib/libiconv.so to lead to libiconv.so.3 not so.6 or anything that DA may provide...

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    795
    This is a fairly large thread yet noone from DA has chimed in. Why is that? I'd like to hear from someone from DA on what they intend to do. Im still running 6.1 and 6.2 installs but im ready to start upgrading my boxes.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    795
    BUMP

    The message you have entered is too short!

  6. #46
    Hello,

    We'll look at changing the iconv to use ports instead of from source in custombuild.. that's really the only hangup right now for it's "unstable" status. The workaround for using /bin/sh is simple enough to do which is probably why it's been put off, but it's just that, a workaround.

    John

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    46
    Quote Originally Posted by DirectAdmin Support View Post
    Hello,

    We'll look at changing the iconv to use ports instead of from source in custombuild.. that's really the only hangup right now for it's "unstable" status. The workaround for using /bin/sh is simple enough to do which is probably why it's been put off, but it's just that, a workaround.

    John
    Maybe there's a way to edit a custom build script to use ports?

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    1,584
    Got 2 DA boxes running FreeBSD 7.0, with the reminder ealier in the thread that 7.0 is indeed EOL I will shortly be updating these boxes to 7.1, I expect no problems since minor freebsd revisions tend to not break things like directadmin.

    The problem I see at the moment with the freebsd support is the obvious lack of port usage, the broken csh binary after installing DA and that it installs out of date packages.

    Utilising the ports system would mean providing the ports tree is up to date then any installed packages would also be up to date, it would solve dependency issues hence the broken csh and it should in theory be easier for DA to maintain scripts as using ports is simpler than manual configuring/compiling.

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    151
    With portsnap updating the ports tree has never been easier. They should definitenly use the ports. I don't think any FreeBSDer even questions that. I even think if they did take the time they might gain many more DA users in the BSD community that scoff at DA's lack of ports use. It's a weird akward feeling to install stuff in BSD without ports.

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    51
    Wow -- I guess I'm not the only one with these feelings after all :-)

  11. #51

  12. #52
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    197
    Could you clarify then if any of the steps (1, 2, or 5) from this post are required then to get FreeBSD 7.1 64 to work "out of the box" with DA?

    http://www.directadmin.com/forum/sho...hlight=freebsd



    I went through the above process this week to get one machine running. No real major issues but definitely not as easy as when running setup just works.

    It is definitely nice to be able to get the full power out of the machines.

    64 bit with 4GB RAM, DA, Freebsd 7.1

    Processor Name Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU 3065 @ 2.33GHz (2333.51-MHz K8-class CPU)
    Total Memory 4082.01 MB
    Free Memory 3387.13 MB

    Same exact machine with 32 bit

    Processor Name Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU 3065 @ 2.33GHz (2333.51-MHz 686-class CPU)
    Total Memory 3314.17 MB
    Free Memory 1952.39 MB


    Thank you for continuing to support FreeBSD. I would also like it if everything used ports but I have no problem settling for just working without having to do a ton of custom changes and tweaks each time I need to set up a new server or update an old one.
    leadQC.com -- Lead verification system for scrubbing bogus leads and sign-ups.

  13. #53
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    uk
    Posts
    1,584
    all 3 steps will be needed, especially step 1 else you risk locking yourself out of ssh after sshd is restarted.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Similar Threads

  1. How much space is DA taking?
    By uberguru in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-12-2011, 01:51 AM
  2. Emails taking up too much space.
    By jim.thornton in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-27-2010, 06:53 AM
  3. re-building php, not taking
    By sde in forum MySQL / PHP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-08-2006, 10:12 PM
  4. DaTaskQ taking up a lot of CPU
    By TijmenNL in forum System-Level Technical Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-26-2006, 05:02 AM
  5. Customer suspending without taking down e-mail
    By Daredevil in forum General Technical Discussion & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-25-2006, 03:56 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •