Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Anyway to change username

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    45

    Anyway to change username

    I have a user that he want to change the username from user1 to kenlee1.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    4,107
    The only way to do it at this time is delete the old user and create a new one with the wanted username.
    It might be possible to change the name in all the necassary files in /home/ /usr/local/directadmin/data /var/log etc but its more hassle than it's worth.

    Just make a backup of his account contents, delete recreate and restore contents.
    Just do what it takes to make it happen

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    102
    This is an old thread but it came up in a search to change a username. There IS a way to do it:

    If you've got a client who wants to have a different username, then you change it by typing

    cd /usr/local/directadmin/scripts
    ./change_username.sh olduser newuser

    (From http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=193)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    5,283
    Of course the change_username.sh script did not exist when the question was asked.
    Floyd Morrissette Little Creek Hosting
    Web Hosting Solutions. Virtual Private Servers
    DirectAdmin Administration and Support
    Our focus is on quality customer support

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    102
    Yup, that's why I updated this thread, and that's why I mentioned this is an old thread

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    381
    Quote Originally Posted by switch View Post
    If you've got a client who wants to have a different username, then you change it by typing

    cd /usr/local/directadmin/scripts
    ./change_username.sh olduser newuser
    How would I change, and not loose files/email. etc.

    If I wanted to change and email-only user name to the username who owns the account on the server?

    Example
    Current
    thom is the DA user
    thoml@hisdomain.com is the email user

    I would like to have thoml as the DA user
    and
    thom@hisdomain.com as the email user

    Thanks
    Thom, EIEIO
    Email, Internet, Electronic Information Officer

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    26,119
    First download all the email from the server.

    Then delete thoml@hisdomain.com.

    then run the script to change the username for the domain to thoml.

    Then create the mailbox thom@hisdomain.com.

    By the way, Thom, I just tried sending mail to hisdomain.com; it bounced.

    You should know better .

    Jeff
    +1 951 643-5345
    Third-Party DirectAdmin administration and support
    Dedicated Servers, Dedicated Reseller Accounts
    NoBaloney Internet Services div. Qnito Incorporated
    848 North Rainbow Blvd., Suite #3789
    Las Vegas, NV 89107-1103

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    381

    his, yours and my

    Quote Originally Posted by jlasman View Post
    By the way, Thom, I just tried sending mail to hisdomain.com; it bounced.
    You should know better .
    Jeff
    Thanks for the explanation Jeff....and I thought that using a real domain name was a requirement only when answering the question required some testing with that domain.

    I wish I owned hisdomain, or yourdomain, or even mydomain.
    Thom, EIEIO
    Email, Internet, Electronic Information Officer

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    26,119
    I still answered the question, didn't I .

    So it's not a requirement.



    Jeff
    +1 951 643-5345
    Third-Party DirectAdmin administration and support
    Dedicated Servers, Dedicated Reseller Accounts
    NoBaloney Internet Services div. Qnito Incorporated
    848 North Rainbow Blvd., Suite #3789
    Las Vegas, NV 89107-1103

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    56
    Hello,

    I found a bug in this script. If you use a remote mysql it fails.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    26,119
    I don't believe that remote MySQL is a standard DirectAdmin option. Nor do I know an easy way to know if a user was using remote MySQL.

    And then of course there are the issues in making changes on a remote server from within a script.

    If you can successfully rewrite the script to automate this as well, be sure to let us know.

    Otherwise I'd probably think of it as a limitation rather than a bug.

    Jeff
    +1 951 643-5345
    Third-Party DirectAdmin administration and support
    Dedicated Servers, Dedicated Reseller Accounts
    NoBaloney Internet Services div. Qnito Incorporated
    848 North Rainbow Blvd., Suite #3789
    Las Vegas, NV 89107-1103

Similar Threads

  1. How to change FTP Username
    By salescare in forum Admin-Level Difficulties
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-23-2012, 03:26 PM
  2. Change my Username!
    By EGS in forum Feedback & Feature Requests
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-09-2009, 05:18 AM
  3. Change username
    By RTKS in forum Admin-Level Difficulties
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-05-2006, 11:53 PM
  4. Change Username
    By jumonjii in forum Feedback & Feature Requests
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-06-2004, 11:52 AM
  5. Username change
    By hostpc.com in forum Admin-Level Difficulties
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-24-2003, 09:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •