Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: CentOS 7 64-bit, ready for BETA testing (Update: Aug 29th)

  1. #1

    CentOS 7 64-bit, ready for BETA testing (Update: Aug 29th)

    Hello,

    We're pleased to announce that the 64-bit of CentOS 7 is ready for BETA testing.
    We recommend that only advanced Users use it, as CentOS has made changes to the boot system and default file system, so there may be bugs.

    We request that issues are posted to the CentOS 7 Forum (please limit e-mail support requests, as they'll probably be duplicates anyway). Feel free to email us the forum link, if needed.
    Note that although we always do our best to resolve issues immediately, as it's BETA, some issues may required some time to resolve.
    The 32-bit version is not yet available.

    Notes about CentOS 7:

    1)
    The boot system now uses systemctl and does not use the /etc/init.d/* scripts.
    Example on restaring and using apache:
    Code:
    systemctl restart httpd.service
    systemctl status httpd.service
    If needed, after adding a service file to /etc/systemd/system, run this to enable it at boot and be able to use it:
    Code:
    systemctl daemon-reload
    systemctl enable httpd.service
    2) New XFS file system. The BETA version of DA for CentOS 7 binaries support XFS quotas (will also be support in the next release of DA for other OSs)
    We've found that manual changes, and a reboot is required to mount the / partition with XFS quotas... however if you use /home for XFS, then the reboot is not required.
    Guide here: http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=557

    If you install ext4 with CentOS 7, at the moment, you must set this directadmin.conf option:
    Code:
    use_xfs=0
    as it defaults to 1 for CentOS 7 (we may add a check for that in the future)

    3) The pre-install commands are slightly different:
    http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=354

    all one line 1, less db4-devel, but add the 2nd line. This is the long single-call version
    Code:
    yum install wget gcc gcc-c++ flex bison make bind bind-libs bind-utils openssl openssl-devel perl quota libaio libcom_err-devel libcurl-devel gd zlib-devel zip unzip libcap-devel cronie bzip2 cyrus-sasl-devel perl-ExtUtils-Embed autoconf automake libtool which patch psmisc net-tools systemd-devel libdb-devel
    which may warrant a pre-install.sh script, to keep it cleaner.

    4) You must use CustomBuild 2.0 with CentOS 7.

    John

  2. #2
    Update: August 29th

    We've found and fixed several bugs in the new binaries, so if your CentOS 7 binaries have a build date before August 29th, we'd recommend you update them:
    Code:
    cd /usr/local/directadmin
    ./directadmin o
    You can update the binaries with this guide:
    http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=29

    or using the pre-release binaries:
    http://help.directadmin.com/item.php?id=408

    As of right now, both binaries are going to be exactly the same, so either method would give you the same binaries.

    John

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    143
    There seem to be some problems with DA service monitor with the LFD service.
    LFD is a part from the Configserver CSF/LFD firewall.

    There is a thread about it here, csf DA plugin bug @ centos7
    Probe my IP

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    350
    CSF does not support firewalld at this moment.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by Petertjuh360 View Post
    CSF does not support firewalld at this moment.
    That is not the issue here. It is about LFD. "lfd can monitor the most commonly abused protocols, SSHD, POP3, IMAP, FTP and
    HTTP password protection. Unlike other applications, lfd is a daemon process that monitors logs continuously"

    Quote from the developer of csf/lfd:
    I cannot help with the DA service monitor as I do not know how it retrieves the memory usage. The Stop/Start and Restart options should work for systemd on DA so long as DA is correctly using the systemctl commands to restart it.
    Probe my IP

  6. #6
    Memory usage on the services monitor page is taken from this script:
    Code:
    /usr/local/directadmin/scripts/service_memory_usage.sh
    where the memory usage is taken from all processes of the same name from the "ps axo comm,rss" output.

    As for start/stop/restart on systemd, for "lfd", DA would call:
    Code:
    /usr/bin/systemctl restart lfd.service 2>&1
    it also checks to ensure that:
    Code:
    /etc/systemd/system/lfd.service
    exists before the command is run. If it doesn't exist, it then checks for
    Code:
    /usr/lib/systemd/system/lfd.service
    which would also be found by the systemctl command.. so either lfd.service file can be used (but in DA, we use /etc/systemd/system/*.service)

    John

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    143
    Thanks. I've passed the information to the csf/lfd forum.
    Probe my IP

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    74
    The reason why the memory usage isn't shown is because the lfd process shows up as "lfd - sleeping" or "lfd - action" when using ps axo comm,rss. The script doesn't seem to like the spaces in the name nor the fact that the name keeps changing. But I don't think this is really an issue as you can still start and stop the process just fine anyway.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    41

    Lightbulb CentOS Linux release 7.1.1503 Network Issues and Fix

    For my new setup on CentOS Linux release 7.1.1503, DirectAdmin's startips would screw the network up-- no matter if NetworkManager was installed or not...

    Here what needed to be done to get network IPs properly working:
    Code:
    systemctl disable startips.service
    Following, we then setup the NIC IPs as usual... (note the name convention is different, no longer is ifcfg-eth0 used, but instead your network is assigned a unique name; for me it's 'eno1' ; ifcfg-eno1)

    We can do this either by making alias ifcfg-eno1:1, ifcfg-eno1:2, etc... or via Centos 7 way using only the main ifcfg-eno1 file (this is what I used)

    Code:
    cd /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts 
    vi ifcfg-eno1
    Here is my ifcfg-eno1 config:



    Code:
    DEVICE=eno1
    NAME=eno1
    TYPE=Ethernet
    BOOTPROTO=none
    DEFROUTE=yes
    NM_CONTROLLED=no
    ONBOOT=yes
    IPV4_FAILURE_FATAL=no
    IPV6INIT=yes
    IPV6_AUTOCONF=yes
    IPV6_DEFROUTE=yes
    IPV6_FAILURE_FATAL=no
    IPV6_PEERDNS=yes
    IPV6_PEERROUTES=yes
    UUID=abf4dgb-57cc-4484-4fa9-b4a71689c359
    HWADDR=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
    #DNS=xx.xx.xx.186
    DNS1=4.2.2.2
    DNS2=8.8.8.8
    GATEWAY0=xx.xx.xx.185
    IPADDR0=xx.xx.xx.186
    PREFIX0=29
    IPADDR1=xx.xx.xx.187
    PREFIX1=29
    IPADDR2=xx.xx.xx.188
    PREFIX2=29
    IPADDR3=xx.xx.xx.189
    PREFIX3=29
    IPADDR4=xx.xx.xx.190
    PREFIX4=29
    IPADDR5=xxx.xxx.xxx.145
    PREFIX5=29
    IPADDR6=xxx.xxx.xxx.146
    PREFIX6=29
    IPADDR7=xxx.xxx.xxx.147
    PREFIX7=29
    IPADDR8=xxx.xxx.xxx.148
    PREFIX8=29
    IPADDR9=xxx.xxx.xxx.149
    PREFIX9=29
    IPADDR10=xxx.xxx.xxx.150
    PREFIX10=29

    Then you can reboot...

    or if you have access to IPMI you can do ...

    Code:
    ip addr flush dev eno1 ; ifdown eno1 ; ifup eno1 ; service network restart
    
    # If you have NetworkManager installed AND your ifcfg-eno1 is set to NM_CONTROLLED=yes
    
    nmcli c down eno1; nmcli c up eno1
    Or you can try using 'screen' prior to running the above commands and hope your network comes back up... But best bet is to just reboot.

    Example:

    Code:
    screen
    ip addr flush dev eno1 ; ifdown eno1 ; ifup eno1 ; service network restart
    
    # If you have NetworkManager installed AND your ifcfg-eno1 is set to NM_CONTROLLED=yes
    
    nmcli c down eno1; nmcli c up eno1

    Following, you won't be using ifconfig anymore to see your IPs... instead you'll use
    Code:
    ip addr show
    # or simply
    ip addr
    ...

    So from now on if you add new IPs to DirectAdmin, you'll also have to manually add them ifcfg-eno1... it's pretty simple process, that only needs to be done once...



    Hope this helps someone... It took a lot of trial and error getting the network IPs stable with Centos 7 and DirectAdmin
    Last edited by duntuk; 11-03-2015 at 07:50 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    LT, EU
    Posts
    7,485
    ethernet device name is taken from directadmin.conf. Please check if you have a correct ethernet device set:
    Code:
    /usr/local/directadmin/directadmin c | grep ethernet_dev
    Martynas Bendorius
    MB Martynas IT. Professional server management company. Official DirectAdmin, CloudLinux, LiteSpeed and Comodo partners.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2,243
    @duntuk, I think I had the same problem on CentOS 7.1. If I added extra IPs in DirectAdmin, then the network would not start when I rebooted the server. I have solved the problem, and I think it is a bug in CentOS 7.1

    I had CentOS 7.1 minimal installed, and NetworkManager should not be enabled as default, however it might have been (I am not sure if it was). When troubleshooting, first I tried to enable NetworkManager (but I am not sure if it was enable already or not, I did this:

    Code:
    chkconfig NetworkManager on
    service NetworkManager start
    systemctl restart network.service
    ifconfig
    reboot
    Then I disabled NetworkManager by doing this:

    Code:
    [root@server~]# systemctl stop NetworkManager.service
    [root@server~]# chkconfig NetworkManager off
    Note: Forwarding request to 'systemctl disable NetworkManager.service'.
    rm '/etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/NetworkManager.service'
    rm '/etc/systemd/system/dbus-org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.service'
    rm '/etc/systemd/system/dbus-org.freedesktop.nm-dispatcher.service'
    [root@server~]#
    And after doing that, the problem was solved. I can now add new ips in IP Management in DirectAdmin and reboot the server, and I don't get any problems anymore. The network start up fine after reboot.

    Edit: By the way, you can get ifconfig in CentOS 7 by installing net-tools: yum install net-tools
    Last edited by ditto; 11-04-2015 at 08:00 AM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by DirectAdmin Support View Post
    Memory usage on the services monitor page is taken from this script:
    Code:
    /usr/local/directadmin/scripts/service_memory_usage.sh
    where the memory usage is taken from all processes of the same name from the "ps axo comm,rss" output.
    This doesn't work as expected on CentOS 7 because some programs have spaces in their name on the output with the command. A drop-in workaround:

    In file /usr/local/directadmin/scripts/service_memory_usage.sh:
    Find:
    Code:
    $PS axo comm,rss | $AWK '{arr[$1]+=$2} END {for (i in arr) {print i "=" arr[i]/1024}}' | $GREP -v '=0$'
    Replace with:
    Code:
    TOP=/usr/bin/top
    $TOP -bn1 | awk 'NR > 7 && $8 ~ /S|D/ { print $12" "$6 }' | $AWK '{arr[$1]+=$2} END {for (i in arr) {print i "=" arr[i]/1024}}' | $GREP -v '=0$'
    Should work on all systems.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •