Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Disable deleting domain

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    12

    Disable deleting domain

    Hello ,

    I don't want users to be able to delete there main domain, I use WHMCS and users would delete there domain and add a new one then the domain displayed in WHMCS would not match the actual domain name. The first thing I tried is to customize the Evolution Skin and disable Domain Setup but this only removes the function from the main menu see https://prntscr.com/ot6ce1
    But the function is still accessible for the user in multiple ways for example the widget see https://prntscr.com/ot6cof gives access see https://prnt.sc/ot6inx

    I probably need to use the Global never_commands described here https://www.directadmin.com/features.php?id=2313
    Can someone tell what the command for that will be or even better to a list of all commands that can be used here and on the on user basis deny/allow commands from here https://www.directadmin.com/features.php?id=1171

    And if I deny it globally can the admin user still remove a domain? Ideally I would want to deny that function only for users but allow it for admin and resellers.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    LT, EU
    Posts
    8,060
    Martynas Bendorius
    MB Martynas IT. Professional server management company. Official DirectAdmin, CloudLinux, LiteSpeed and Comodo partners.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Maastricht
    Posts
    4,066
    No I don't think so, or it's wrongly explained there:
    users_can_add_remove_domains=1
    will block the ability to delete any domain.

    users_can_add_remove_domains=2
    will block the ability to add or delete any domain.
    It says *any* not only the main domain.
    Users should be able to delete their domains or add new ones. Just not delete the main domain, that's something different.
    Greetings, Richard.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by smtalk View Post
    Yes this does work but if I use it globally in the directadmin.conf it means the admin or reseller can't delete a domain either correct?
    So if I as admin would want to delete a domain I first have to override the the default in the directadmin.conf by adding in the user.conf the line users_can_add_remove_domains=0 to remove/change the domain and then remove the line from the user.conf again?

    Is there a list of values we can use in the user.conf and is there a template for the user.conf where we can add values so that they will be present up on creation?

    Thanks for the quick answers it is appreciated.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Maastricht
    Posts
    4,066
    but if I use it globally in the directadmin.conf it means the admin or reseller can't delete a domain either correct?
    No because at the bottom there is a link to:
    https://www.directadmin.com/features.php?id=2384

    And if you read there, it says you can excempt admin and/or reseller by adding values.
    It says:
    (To exempt both, add 16+32 to your value)
    where both is admin and reseller.
    In that case it seems to me (please correct me if I'm wrong) the value should be:
    1 - block everyone to delete
    So 1+16+32=49 so
    Code:
    users_can_add_remove_domains=49
    in directadmin.conf would deny only users to add or delete *any* domains globally.
    So this does not apply only to the main domain.

    SMtalk please correct me if I'm wrong.
    Greetings, Richard.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard G View Post
    No because at the bottom there is a link to:
    https://www.directadmin.com/features.php?id=2384

    And if you read there, it says you can excempt admin and/or reseller by adding values.
    It says:

    where both is admin and reseller.
    In that case it seems to me (please correct me if I'm wrong) the value should be:
    1 - block everyone to delete
    So 1+16+32=49 so
    Code:
    users_can_add_remove_domains=49
    in directadmin.conf would deny only users to add or delete *any* domains globally.
    So this does not apply only to the main domain.

    SMtalk please correct me if I'm wrong.
    Yes I saw that link and when you put 49 as value the reseller and admin can delete domains but only there own domains not domains of the users/customers that they own, I was hoping to have a way that that was possible but I am satisfied with this solution, if I need to delete a domain of a user/customer I can temporarily add

    Code:
    users_can_add_remove_domains=0
    To the user.conf

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •