ProFTPd update?

The following appears to work. Use at your own risk.
Code:
wget [url=ftp://ftp.proftpd.org/distrib/source/proftpd-1.2.8p.tar.gz]ftp://ftp.proftpd.org/distrib/source/proftpd-1.2.8p.tar.gz[/url]

gzip -d pro*
tar xvf pro*
cd pro*

cp /etc/proftpd.conf /etc/proftpd.backup.conf

./configure --sysconfdir=/etc --localstatedir=/usr/sbin
make
make install

service proftpd restart

I don't see why DA should take responsibility for security flaws in third party software. Of course it would be nice if they send a message to everyone with instructions how to patch the software, but in my opinion it's the task of a system administration to keep everything uptodate.

iStormy said:
If DirectAdmin installed it on my system, I expect them to be responsible for it. It's part of their system. Their program downloaded it to my server, their program configured it, their program compiled it, their program launched it.

But I'm new to DA, and I don't yet know their way of doing things. I just know that CPanel had a new version of ProFTPd ready for automatic update 2 hours & 44 minutes after the first post appeared in their forums.

Now, I know the evil of CPanel, which is why I'm here, and not there. :D But if DA installs 3rd party software and then has nothing further to do with it, this should be clearly stated somewhere so that us new clients will be fully aware of our responsibilities.

Plesk, Ensim Pro, Ensim Basic, cPanel and DirectAdmin all get the software, all configure the software and all compile it.

cPanel having an automated update feature has its good side but also its bad, the good - its easier for a newbie to update without much if any experience and regular updates are better known as its in the control panel, the bad - a lot of software should not be updated automatically, it can easily break things and you do not have any idea what it is doing.

I personally prefer updating software myself for a few reasons.