Apache 2.4.26

DirectAdmin Support

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
9,164
Apache 2.4.26 has been released.
http://www.apache.org/dist/httpd/Announcement2.4.html

We've also updated to apr-util 1.6.0 and apr 1.6.2.
These files are now set in the versions.txt on files1.

To update, once your mirror is updated (up to 24 hours), type:
Code:
cd /usr/local/directadmin/custombuild
./build update
./build apache
./build mod_ruid2   #if applicable
./build php n
./build rewrite_confs
where we recommend recompiling php, and any other modules compiled to load into apache.

While testing, I ran into this error on one of our test boxes:
Code:
xml/apr_xml.c:35:19: error: expat.h: No such file or directory
which was solved with
Code:
yum install expat-devel
 

nielsh

Verified User
Joined
May 15, 2015
Messages
48
Nice, thanks!

I noticed HTTP2 is now considered stable:
HTTP/2 support no longer tagged as "experimental" but is instead considered
fully production ready.

Are there any plans to enable this in the configure flags by default? (This question also extends to nginx, I believe it is stable there as well now but not 100% sure)
 

DirectAdmin Support

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
9,164
Added to the pre-install list, to the setup.sh, and CustomBuild 2.0 now checks for it an will auto-add it if it's missing (CB 2.0 rev 1671)
John
 

Marwen

Verified User
Joined
Nov 7, 2003
Messages
157
Location
germany
Hi John.

After upgrade from apache 2.4.25 to 2.4.26 all "backend logins"from joomla CMS or Gsales dosen´t work.
so i downgrade back to apache2.4.25 and all logins work again.

Any Idea ?

Cheers Mario
 

exlhost

Verified User
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
44
Location
Nederlands
Hi John.

After upgrade from apache 2.4.25 to 2.4.26 all "backend logins"from joomla CMS or Gsales dosen´t work.
so i downgrade back to apache2.4.25 and all logins work again.

Any Idea ?

Cheers Mario

Hi Mario

Did you recompiled php, and any other modules compiled to load into apache?
 

Marwen

Verified User
Joined
Nov 7, 2003
Messages
157
Location
germany
hi Deeefje.

Yes. That was the first i try. "recompile php (FPM) and rewrite_confs"

same problem on two different server with apache 2.4.26.
After a rollback to 2.4.25 it works again.
 
Last edited:

exlhost

Verified User
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
44
Location
Nederlands
Yes i had the same with PHP-fpm on my second php instance --> php 7.1
turning back all these domains wich are on php-fpm to mod_php with php7.0 did the trick
looks like php-fpm dont have the correct permissions with the new apache update!
 
Last edited:

Marwen

Verified User
Joined
Nov 7, 2003
Messages
157
Location
germany
I Use only php-fpm on both php versions. (php 56 and php 71)

the problem looks like at both versions.
 

exlhost

Verified User
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
44
Location
Nederlands
Yes then it is PHP-FPM related, when browsing some options in one of my wordpress sites it says not the right permissions!
 

dmtinc

Verified User
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
107
Location
Chile
same problems here with php fpm, after follow the instructions still with problems, this is a real pain....i have a lot of servers with auto update on custombuild :/
 

exlhost

Verified User
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
44
Location
Nederlands
same problems here with php fpm, after follow the instructions still with problems, this is a real pain....i have a lot of servers with auto update on custombuild :/

Dont think that is a smart move while youre having allot of servers to enable Automatic Updates!
 

wattie

Verified User
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
1,229
Location
Bulgaria
Is also taken care of for the ones who has this installed ?

http://forum.directadmin.com/showthread.php?t=52590


Or what to do/check after updating Apache to 2.4.26 with these


I just updated a FreeBSD 11 box from 2.4.25 with HTTP2 support to 2.4.26 and it was fluent.

Make sure you have the proper /usr/local/directadmin/custombuild/custom/ap2/configure.apache file and... that's it. I didn't recompile nghttp2 or anything else (my PHPs are SuPHP). It just works.
 
Last edited:

dmtinc

Verified User
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
107
Location
Chile
Dont think that is a smart move while youre having allot of servers to enable Automatic Updates!

The good and the bad, without automatic updates, you can expect servers with old and vulnerable software, but I'm downloading the update from the directadmin repo, and the real problem is push a update globally without the proper check of it.

for example, if you install a new server today with directadmin you will get this problem from the first moment if you use php-fpm.

So, ¿We cant trust in the directadmin repo or related updates?
 

Wanabo

Verified User
Joined
Jan 19, 2013
Messages
309
It's Apache update, not DirectAdmin update.

Yes and no. In yum apache is disabled so updates comes through DA. In yum.conf
Code:
exclude=apache* httpd* mod_* mysql* MySQL* mariadb* da_* *ftp* exim* sendmail* php* bind-chroot*

So this is maintained by DA. Then we could expect some testing/safety by DA.
 

exlhost

Verified User
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
44
Location
Nederlands
Seriously ?

So you update all of you're servers automatically and trust automatic updates over your customers!. (never seen anyone is doing that)
You know this is still ict which its quite normal there are bugs, every company push updates and roll them back afterwards
as well this is an apache update and not an old vulnerable (security) software update!
 

smtalk

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 22, 2006
Messages
10,460
Location
LT, EU
Please try:
Code:
echo 'ProxyFCGIBackendType GENERIC' >> /etc/httpd/conf/extra/httpd-phpmodules.conf
service httpd restart
 
Top