Can't get nameservers to work

toxpal

I've been using cPanel/WHM for 15+ years, and got DA server recently to test. I don't know if I'm that dumb, but I can't simply get my nameservers to work. Yes, I read the knowledgebase and searched forum, but...

All I want is to use my private nameservers (ns1.parent-domain.com / ns2.parent-domain.com) for all domains (like child-domain.com) hosted on the server. So this is what I did:

1. Created ns1.parent-domain.com / ns2.parent-domain.com with domain registrar. My server (VPS) comes with single IP (let's say 1.2.3.4), so I assigned the same IP to both nameservers.
2. Using Server Manager > Server Settings changed server hostname to hostname.parent-domain.com and set nameservers to ns1.parent-domain.com / ns2.parent-domain.com.
3. Using Server Manager > DNS Administration added 2 x A records for parent-domain.com - ns1 (1.2.3.4) and ns2 (1.2.3.4).
4. Pointed parent-domain.com to ns1.parent-domain.com / ns2.parent-domain.com using registrar.

And nothing else happens. I can't access server via hostname.parent-domain.com, I can't ping ns1.parent-domain.com/ns2.parent-domain.com (they don't resolve anywhere) and obviously if I create a new domain on server (let's say child-domain.com) and point it to ns1.parent-domain.com / ns2.parent-domain.com, domain doesn't even resolve.

What important step did I miss here? My VPS provider suggests me to use their nameservers, which is not a solution to my issue. One of KB solutions at DA website suggested to check if named works. Yes, it does:

Code:
netstat -lnp | grep named
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:953           0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      2205/named          
tcp        0      0 LOCAL_SERVER_IP:53         0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      2205/named          
tcp        0      0 EXTERNAL_SERVER_IP:53         0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      2205/named          
tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:53            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      2205/named