create softraid

RichardF

Verified User
Joined
Jul 5, 2005
Messages
59
Location
Netherlands
I was given a fujitsu rx100 s5 server. It's a 1u server, two sata disks. And probably not a real raid controller.
After installing CentOS mapper\ghjkljopoiuyt67890-poihgt678i wasn't found recognized whatever, so I read something here and there and realized maybe this is not a real raid card.

so I reconfigured the raid card not to use raid.

So now I am trying to create a softraid from within Centos.
mdadm is installed, but what is the best way to do this?

I added those lines to mdadm.conf
DEVICE /dev/sda1 /dev/sdb1
ARRAY /dev/md0 devices=/dev/sda1,/dev/sdb1


with this command
mdadm -C /dev/md0 --level=1 --raid-devices=2 /dev/sda1 /dev/sdb2
I get this message:
mdadm: Cannot open /dev/sda1: Device or resource busy
mdadm: create aborted


with this command
mdadm --verboxe C /dev/md0 -level=1 --raid-devices=2 /devsda1 /dev/sdb2
I get this message
mdadm: An option must be given to set the mode before a second device is listed

What am I doing wrong?
 

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
This most likely isn't the best forum for a hardware question, which is what you're really asking.

First make sure that when you've turned off RAID your disks are really called /dev/sda1 and /dev/sdb1.

If so, then the problem is that you have to unmount the /dev/sda1 drive before you can set up the array.

You may be able to do this from a rescue mode, but you'll more likely need to run a live distribution (botted from a CD, DVD, or usb-drive, in order to set it up.

You can google for creating RAID on an already running box.

Jeff
 

RichardF

Verified User
Joined
Jul 5, 2005
Messages
59
Location
Netherlands
tnx jeff

I have a bootable ubuntu usb stick. I don't know if the server can boot from usb, but I'll try to make a CD with CentOS, if possible.

In an other post you wrote that you used raidtools, but when i google raidtools I find old sites and topics. Is raidtools still alive?
 

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
I have a bootable ubuntu usb stick. I don't know if the server can boot from usb, but I'll try to make a CD with CentOS, if possible.
Not CentOS; if you can do it with CentOS then you can do it with a single-user login to your server, because CentOS isn't a live distribution.

I'd recommend either ubuntu or knoppix.
In an other post you wrote that you used raidtools, but when i google raidtools I find old sites and topics. Is raidtools still alive?
I really don't know. Some of my servers have it; some don't.

Jeff
 

floyd

Verified User
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
5,310
tnx jeff
I didn't know that not every linux version can be booted from cd/usb
He did not say that. He said "CentOS isn't a live distribution."

You can still boot from a CentOS usb. I do it all the time when doing remote OS installs. But it will probably not give you everything you need to do what you need to do.

A Live distro gives you a desktop environment with more functionality.
 

RichardF

Verified User
Joined
Jul 5, 2005
Messages
59
Location
Netherlands
I fixed it.
centos softraid howto

I could follow it almost to the letter. The only difference was creating the raid on sda first and then use the clone option for sdb
Then I installed CentOS.. rebooted
No OS found :(
I was thinking.. I didn't make a raid config.. the setup saw the disks, I created the right partitions, during installation I saw both LED's burn simultanously, so mirror was active.
Then I went into the BIOS disabled the SATA-raid card totally saved changes
Rebooted and CentOS booted very well!
So for installing Centos on a Fujitsu Primergy RX100 s5, just disable the sataraid card and you're fine.
 
Last edited:

floyd

Verified User
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
5,310
I thought you were trying to set up software on an existing system that did not currently have software raid.
 

RichardF

Verified User
Joined
Jul 5, 2005
Messages
59
Location
Netherlands
well.. maybe that's because of my english. I can write it, but to express what I actually mean is a lot more difficult. And other part of the problem is my inexperience with Linux / jargon.

It was a fresh install. But still I learned something. tnx
 

floyd

Verified User
Joined
Mar 29, 2005
Messages
5,310
On a fresh install its really easy except for the bios problem you had. I do it all the time.
 
Top