domains and subdomains pointing to specific folder

aleborg

Verified User
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
Messages
87
How can the user change what folder a subdomain or a domain is pointing to?
If a user ads the subdomain forum.domain.com, a folder "forum" is created, but what if he want's it to point to the folder "board" instead, how does he do that?
 

aleborg

Verified User
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
Messages
87
That wasn't what I ment, I want to be able to change directory for the subdomain and domain in apache, not a redirect.
 
Last edited:

DirectAdmin Support

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
8,937
Hello,

That isn't really possible, even with the custom httpd.conf feature.. I think you'd need to manually add your own virtualhost to the main httpd.conf then (before the Include lines).

John
 

ProWebUK

Verified User
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
2,326
Location
UK
I was actually thinking about this earlier! with the subdomain feature have options:

Subdomain: [______].domain.com
Path: /domain.com/[______]

The usefu thing allowing that, is they could have:

/domain.com/subdomainname/

and have subdomain only, or they could have:

/domain.com/public_html/subdomainname/

which comes very useful, we often use it to allow:

domain.com/forum
forum.domain.com without any additional work, and it makes a neat feature at the same time :)

obviously, the path has to be limited so they must be /domain.com/* without having access to the httpd.conf :) which keeps things safe at the same time as offering options!

Chris
 

aleborg

Verified User
Joined
Nov 30, 2003
Messages
87
Our current controlpanel has this feature, have a look at a testaccount in confixx:

https://www.kontrollpanelen.se/user/
username: web263
password: FB7zdwzy

Confixx has a nice layout and userfriendly interface and LOTS of bugs. But there are some features I like in confixx that I would like to se in DA...
 

metziel

Verified User
Joined
Dec 27, 2006
Messages
9
Bump. I would very much like this feature, as I have a number of subdomains and I don't enjoy cluttering up my root folder with all the directories, especially when the subdomains redirect.

I would appreciate a resolution to this issue.
 

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
Does it need a resoluition? To me it's more like a feature request.

I see it as a real maintenance nightmare; at some point everyone's going to lose track of what subdomain points to which folder, and it's going to take logging in to the control panel to figure it out.

I don't see any compelling reason to need the feature.

Should I move the thred to the Feedback & Feature Requests?

Jeff
 

shvaber

Verified User
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
24
Good day!
Does anybody have some news on this matter?

domains and subdomains pointing to specific folder

We are going from Cpanel, it has it. Needs to have with DA too...
 

srv

New member
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
5
Good day!
Does anybody have some news on this matter?

domains and subdomains pointing to specific folder

We are going from Cpanel, it has it. Needs to have with DA too...
Yeah, moved to directadmin becuz cpanel raised pricing.
how about it, shouldn't be that difficult to point a domain to a folder that exists
on another domain.
 

DirectAdmin Support

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
8,937
I've added the back-end support for subdomain DocumentRoot overrides:
https://www.directadmin.com/features.php?id=2573

The GUI portion has yet to be implemented.
The changes to the templates to make this happen was a bit trickier than expected, and does change the default token/behavior on how the Subdomain VirtualHosts are defined.
Used to be:
Code:
DocumentRoot |DOCROOT|/|SUB|
but is now:
Code:
DocumentRoot |SDOCROOT|
where the hard part is to do it in a way that minimizes the changes of breaking any customized DOCROOT overrides that are already there, and carrying it forward into the new system. This is currently available in the pre-release area.

John
 

srv

New member
Joined
Nov 6, 2019
Messages
5
I've added the back-end support for subdomain DocumentRoot overrides:
https://www.directadmin.com/features.php?id=2573

The GUI portion has yet to be implemented.
The changes to the templates to make this happen was a bit trickier than expected, and does change the default token/behavior on how the Subdomain VirtualHosts are defined.
Used to be:
Code:
DocumentRoot |DOCROOT|/|SUB|
but is now:
Code:
DocumentRoot |SDOCROOT|
where the hard part is to do it in a way that minimizes the changes of breaking any customized DOCROOT overrides that are already there, and carrying it forward into the new system. This is currently available in the pre-release area.

John
TNX, John,
So how do I go about using this feature, my only interface is the control panel.
tom
 

DirectAdmin Support

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2003
Messages
8,937
At the moment, you'd ask the server admin.
Once the GUI part is done, the very entry will be updated, then it will work through 2222.

John
 

bestariwebhost

Verified User
Joined
Aug 17, 2019
Messages
29
Location
Indonesia
I need this featured too via GUI on user level. Some Wordpress user need to pointing subdomain to wp-content folder. Currently only can setting via admin level
 
Top