Firewall Status: Enabled but Stopped (centOS 8)

Networkfa

Verified User
Joined
Mar 20, 2019
Messages
14
Code:
# systemctl status csf
● csf.service - ConfigServer Firewall & Security - csf
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/csf.service; enabled; vendor preset: disabled)
   Active: active (exited) since Tue 2019-10-01 14:56:16 +0330; 45min ago
  Process: 1050 ExecStart=/usr/sbin/csf --initup (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
 Main PID: 1050 (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)

Oct 01 14:56:14 c8da.networkfa.net systemd[1]: Starting ConfigServer Firewall & Security - csf...
Oct 01 14:56:16 c8da.networkfa.net csf[1050]: (restoring iptables) (restoring ip6tables)
Oct 01 14:56:16 c8da.networkfa.net systemd[1]: Started ConfigServer Firewall & Security - csf.
 

zEitEr

Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
13,893
Location
GMT +7.00
Hello,

I believe you will get more likely a reply if you post your question on CSF/LFD forums or contact the developers directly.
 

nservices

Verified User
Joined
Dec 11, 2008
Messages
293
same here:
[root@server1 ~]# perl /usr/local/csf/bin/csftest.pl
Testing ip_tables/iptable_filter...OK
Testing ipt_LOG...OK
Testing ipt_multiport/xt_multiport...OK
Testing ipt_REJECT...OK
Testing ipt_state/xt_state...OK
Testing ipt_limit/xt_limit...OK
Testing ipt_recent...OK
Testing xt_connlimit...OK
Testing ipt_owner/xt_owner...OK
Testing iptable_nat/ipt_REDIRECT...OK
Testing iptable_nat/ipt_DNAT...OK

RESULT: csf should function on this server
[root@server1 ~]#
I will check and keep you updated
 

zEitEr

Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
13,893
Location
GMT +7.00
I have no issue on my CentOS 8 server:

Code:
# cat /etc/redhat-release
CentOS Linux release 8.0.1905 (Core)
#
# systemctl status csf
● csf.service - ConfigServer Firewall & Security - csf
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/csf.service; enabled; vendor preset: disabled)
   Active: active (exited) since Mon 2019-09-30 14:52:36 +07; 3 days ago
 Main PID: 688 (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
    Tasks: 0 (limit: 24036)
   Memory: 0B
   CGroup: /system.slice/csf.service


Sep 30 14:52:31 intoda.poralix.net systemd[1]: Starting ConfigServer Firewall & Security - csf...
Sep 30 14:52:36 intoda.poralix.net csf[688]: (restoring ipsets) (restoring iptables) (restoring ip6tables)
Sep 30 14:52:36 intoda.poralix.net systemd[1]: Started ConfigServer Firewall & Security - csf.

Anyway whatever your issue is caused by hardly is it related to DirectAdmin at all. The CSF/LFD is a 3rd party software and is not managed by DA.
 

Networkfa

Verified User
Joined
Mar 20, 2019
Messages
14
I have no issue on my CentOS 8 server:

Code:
# cat /etc/redhat-release
CentOS Linux release 8.0.1905 (Core)
#
# systemctl status csf
● csf.service - ConfigServer Firewall & Security - csf
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/csf.service; enabled; vendor preset: disabled)
   Active: active (exited) since Mon 2019-09-30 14:52:36 +07; 3 days ago
 Main PID: 688 (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
    Tasks: 0 (limit: 24036)
   Memory: 0B
   CGroup: /system.slice/csf.service


Sep 30 14:52:31 intoda.poralix.net systemd[1]: Starting ConfigServer Firewall & Security - csf...
Sep 30 14:52:36 intoda.poralix.net csf[688]: (restoring ipsets) (restoring iptables) (restoring ip6tables)
Sep 30 14:52:36 intoda.poralix.net systemd[1]: Started ConfigServer Firewall & Security - csf.

Anyway whatever your issue is caused by hardly is it related to DirectAdmin at all. The CSF/LFD is a 3rd party software and is not managed by DA.
check it from the Directadmin csf plugin
 

zEitEr

Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 11, 2005
Messages
13,893
Location
GMT +7.00
OK, I see. Anyway it does not change anything. The plugin for DirectAdmin is written by CSF/LFD developers, and it's up to them to fix it, I'd rather say.
 

ditto

Verified User
Joined
Apr 27, 2009
Messages
2,466
On my CentOS 8 server it is dead also when I check by command line:

Code:
[root@server~]# systemctl status csf.service
? csf.service - ConfigServer Firewall & Security - csf
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/csf.service; enabled; vendor preset: disabled)
   Active: inactive (dead)
[root@server~]#
But testing show now errors:

Code:
Testing ip_tables/iptable_filter...OK
Testing ipt_LOG...OK
Testing ipt_multiport/xt_multiport...OK
Testing ipt_REJECT...OK
Testing ipt_state/xt_state...OK
Testing ipt_limit/xt_limit...OK
Testing ipt_recent...OK
Testing xt_connlimit...OK
Testing ipt_owner/xt_owner...OK
Testing iptable_nat/ipt_REDIRECT...OK
Testing iptable_nat/ipt_DNAT...OK

RESULT: csf should function on this server
Edit: The problem was solved by doing "systemctl restart csf.service" on command line (it was not enough to start it, so it is a bug, and the work around is to do a restart of csf in command line. Now it looks good:

systemctl restart csf.service

Code:
[root@server ~]# systemctl status csf.service
? csf.service - ConfigServer Firewall & Security - csf
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/csf.service; enabled; vendor preset: disabled)
   Active: active (exited) since Thu 2019-10-10 17:53:36 CEST; 36s ago
  Process: 17980 ExecStart=/usr/sbin/csf --initup (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
 Main PID: 17980 (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
 
Last edited:

carriechan

New member
Joined
Oct 17, 2019
Messages
2
Hello All,

In my CSF, I also have this issue when I upgraded the CentOS 8 on 2nd Oct 2019.

ConfigServer Security & Firewall - csf v13.07
Firewall Status: Enabled but Stopped

Currently, is it waiting for the CSF updates? Thanks
 

thomasdk81

Verified User
Joined
Oct 3, 2010
Messages
56
Location
Denmark
Hello All,

In my CSF, I also have this issue when I upgraded the CentOS 8 on 2nd Oct 2019.

ConfigServer Security & Firewall - csf v13.07
Firewall Status: Enabled but Stopped

Currently, is it waiting for the CSF updates? Thanks
Same here. Waiting for an update, since everything works fine.
 

ditto

Verified User
Joined
Apr 27, 2009
Messages
2,466
I can also confirm it is fixed in 13.08, however it still is a little buggy. If you restart csf in shell command line, then it will show it as "Firewall Status: Enabled but Stopped" in GUI. Then you must click "Start" in GUI, and it will show correctly as running.
 
Top