FreeBSD 6.2 on AMD Athlon 64 3500

HH-Steve

Verified User
Joined
Oct 8, 2004
Messages
59
Location
Australia
I don't see why it wouldn't work. Make sure you install the 32 bit version of FreeBSD and not the 64 bit version if your going to run DirectAdmin.
 

Andres

Verified User
Joined
Aug 9, 2007
Messages
13
What is 32bit version? i have amd64... is there any amd32? never seen it before. what components will not work on that version? i run a lot of services without any problem before.
 

pucky

Verified User
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
795
Hi,
I am planing to install FreeBSD 6.2 on AMD Athlon 64 3500 does it gone work?:confused:

Works fine. We run a number of FreeBSD boxes on Opteron boxes without any issues. A good idea though is to rebuild the world with the latest source, patches etc and recompiling everything using CPUTYPE=Opteron, in your case something else, in order to optimize the code as much as possible for your processor type.

Good luck.
 

HH-Steve

Verified User
Joined
Oct 8, 2004
Messages
59
Location
Australia
What is 32bit version? i have amd64... is there any amd32? never seen it before. what components will not work on that version? i run a lot of services without any problem before.
i386 is the generic 32bit version.

Steven
 

Andres

Verified User
Joined
Aug 9, 2007
Messages
13
# cat /etc/make.conf
CPUTYPE= athlon64
CFLAGS= -march=athlon64 -O2 -pipe -funroll-loops -ffast-math
COPTFLAGS= -O2 -pipe -funroll-loops -ffast-math

# cat /sys/amd64/conf/TRINITY | grep -v "^#" | head -20

machine amd64
cpu HAMMER
ident TRINITY


makeoptions DEBUG=-g # Build kernel with gdb(1) debug symbols

options SCHED_4BSD # 4BSD scheduler
options PREEMPTION # Enable kernel thread preemption
options INET # InterNETworking
options INET6 # IPv6 communications protocols
options FFS # Berkeley Fast Filesystem
options SOFTUPDATES # Enable FFS soft updates support
options UFS_ACL # Support for access control lists
...............................

So i need to downgrade all optimisations for my CPU?
And what exactly? Kernel or binary? there are a lot of things already runing on this server and DA jails is not alone.
 

nobaloney

NoBaloney Internet Svcs - In Memoriam †
Joined
Jun 16, 2003
Messages
26,119
Location
California
I'm not sure what you mean by DA jails.

DirectAdmin should be installed only on a new server install:

For example, from: http://www.directadmin.com/install.html
***Please do not install services such as Apache, PHP, MySQL, Ftp, Sendmail, etc., as we will do this for you. All we need is a CLEAN install of your operating system.***
We do not recommend installing DirectAdmin on an existing live production server.
Also, from the same link:
Operating System:

Redhat Linux 7.2, 7.3, 8.0, 9.0
RedHat Fedora 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
RedHat Enterprise / CentOS 3.0, 3.1, 3.2, 3.3, 4.1, 4.2, 4.3, 4.4, 5.0 (64-bit: 4.1 - 4.4, 5.0)
FreeBSD 4.7, 4.8, 4.9, 4.10, 4.11, 5.0, 5.1, 5.2, 5.2.1, 5.3, 5.4, 6.0, 6.1, 6.2
Debian Sarge/Woody 3.1/Etch 4.0
Note from the above that 64-bit operating system is only listed for specific versions of RedHat Enterprise/CentOS.

And also from the same link:
Hardware:

We highly recommend a processor of at least 500mhz even though DirectAdmin will run on slower systems. A minimum 64 megabytes of memory is required (128+ megabytes is preferred). A hard drive with at least 2 gigabytes of free space (after the Linux install) is also required. If you are expecting high traffic levels then you will need more memory, processor power, and hard drive space than we recommend here. Your processor *must* be x86 compatible. Intel and AMD will work fine. Solaris/Sparc will not. Also, 64-bit OS's are not supported at this time.
Jeff
 
Top