Fresh Install of Urchin V5

ProWebUK

Verified User
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
2,326
Location
UK
Fresh Install / upgrade of Urchin V5

as usual with my howto guides i take no responsibility if anything goes wrong, If you have any problems feel free to post here although i do not guaranatee i will be able to help.

the howto assumes that you do not currently have any version of urchin on your server.

ok, lets start

Firstly:

// text like this is information

# commands_are_shown_like -this

----------------

log in as root

# mkdir urchin

# cd urchin

// For RH 7.2 / 7.3
# wget http://www.urchin.com/download/urchin5/download/urchin5101_redhat72.tar.gz

// For RH 8
# wget http://www.urchin.com/download/urchin5/download/urchin5101_redhat8x.tar.gz

// For RH 9
# wget http://www.urchin.com/download/urchin5/download/urchin5101_redhat9x.tar.gz

# tar zxvf urchin500*

# rm -f urchin5101_redhat*

# chmod 755 install.sh

# ./install.sh

// you will be asked a few questions by the install script, type the appropriate answers, for the port number, we are going to use 8080 for this howto.

// DO YOU WANT TO START URCHIN AFTER THE INSTALLATION? -

if you want urchin to be under httpp (unsecure) type y (for yes), if you want to put urchin under https (secure) type n as we will need to configure it.


-------------------------------------------------------------------

CHECK THE FILES / PATHS USED BELOW ARE CORRECT, THEY ARE BASED ON PLESK 6 SO MAY BE WRONG, IF SO, USE THE 'LOCATE' COMMAND TO FIND OUT THE CORRECT LOCATION OF THE FILE

IGNORE THIS SECTION IF YOU DO NOT WANT URCHIN IN HTTPS (SECURE) SPACE)

# cp /etc/httpd/conf/ssl.crt/server.crt /usr/local/urchin/var
# cp /etc/httpd/conf/ssl.key/server.key /usr/local/urchin/var
# pico -w /usr/local/urchin/var/urchinwebd.conf.template

you will now be in pico, on line 7 replace "ServerName Localhost" with your hostname like this "ServerName srv01.yourdomain.com"

press [CTRL] + [X] to exit, when you are asked if you want to save the chnages, type Y and press enter.

# pico -w /usr/local/urchin/util/urchin_daemons

scroll down to line 35, you should see this:

"$INSTALLDIR/bin/urchinctl" start

Replace it with:

"$INSTALLDIR/bin/urchinctl" -e start

------------------------------------------------------------------

the final section, all users should do this running in ssl or not!

# cp /usr/local/urchin/util/urchin_daemons /etc/rc.d/init.d/urchin
# chmod 755 /etc/rc.d/init.d/urchin
# pico -w /etc/rc.d/rc.local

// at the of the file just add the following line:

/etc/rc.d/init.d/urchin start

press [CTRL] + [X] to exit, type y when it asks you if you want to save changes and press enter to exit.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Notices!

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

firstly i would like to point out that the howto is based on the one from unoffical-support.com, it has been rewrtten and modified for PSA6 users.

You can now log in at (if you chose secure) https://hostname:8080 or (if you chose unsecure) http://hostname:8080

hostname should be replaced with your servers hostname and 8080 is the port you chose during the installation... if you did not chnage it the urchin default is 9999

MAKE SURE IF YOU HAVE A FIREWALL YOU OPEN THE USED PORT

when you setup a profile for users in urchin you will be required to give the full system path to the sites access_log file

If you get permission files you will need to do:

// log directory
# chmod 555 /httpd/logs/DOMAIN.COM/logs/
# chmod 777 -r /httpd/logs/DOMAIN.COM/logs/

NOTE THE ABOVE ARE NOT THE ACTUAL PATHS... I AM UNSURE OF THESE IN DIRECTADMIN SO YOU WILL HAVE TO CHECK

please post with comments, or any chnages that have to be made to this howto (i cant test it - sorry :( )any problems also feel free to post here... i have installed urchin on almost every RH server apart from DA so i might be able to help :p

Enjoy it ;)

Chris
 

ProWebUK

Verified User
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
2,326
Location
UK
Upgrading From V4 to V5

To upgrade from V4 to V5 please follow the above guide. After running the following step:

# ./install.sh

Make sure you select the 'upgrade' option and not install.

Most of the options you choose after that shown in the above guide will need to be ignored. You do not need to follow any more of the guide, if you wish to put it under https follow the section regarding that, the rc.local fsection does not need to be done for an upgrade :)

Chris
 

UltimeWWW

Verified User
Joined
Sep 10, 2003
Messages
217
Location
Montreal
Any way to automate the creation of profiles, just like in Ensim?

I could work it but I can't find the file that DA runs when creating a new site.

Thanks ;)
 

ProWebUK

Verified User
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
2,326
Location
UK
Also unsure of the file executed when a site is created...

sorry :(
 

ProWebUK

Verified User
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
2,326
Location
UK
Nope, i think the version may be 0.001 out... if so the wget wont work (Urchin remove previous versions), I will update the links (if needs be) in a moment.

Chris
 

interfasys

Verified User
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
2,099
Location
Switzerland
Thanks!

Since most paths were the ones for Plesk 6, I was wondering if you ran into big problems there and if a simple locate solved the problems.
 

ProWebUK

Verified User
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
2,326
Location
UK
The onlt thing that is really specifi to plesk would be the location of users log files. this is used in the format shown below.

// log directory
# chmod 555 /httpd/logs/DOMAIN.COM/logs/
# chmod 777 -r /httpd/logs/DOMAIN.COM/logs/

Simply replace the paths with the actual paths to your users files :)

Chris
 

interfasys

Verified User
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
2,099
Location
Switzerland
Urchin was already installed on my server, I've followed the ssl instructions, restarted urchin, but I cannot use the https protocol. Only http works. Isn't there a place to tell urchin to run in secure mode?
 

ProWebUK

Verified User
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
2,326
Location
UK
Dont think you followed the guide completely ;)

under the https section there is:

# pico -w /usr/local/urchin/util/urchin_daemons

scroll down to line 35, you should see this:

"$INSTALLDIR/bin/urchinctl" start

Replace it with:

"$INSTALLDIR/bin/urchinctl" -e start

===================

follow the remainder of the guide and you will be able start using service urchin <OPTION>

in some cases its urchind instaed of urchin.

Chris
 

interfasys

Verified User
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
2,099
Location
Switzerland
I did follow the guide, but even though the -e switch is in the urchin_deamons, using urchinctl without -e did not activate ssl.

I just did a quick test again and I can confirm that it won't work without the -e switch in the command line.

Maybe I have an error somewhere else....
 

ProWebUK

Verified User
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
2,326
Location
UK
once you have done that you need to move the binary if you have not already done so:

cp /usr/local/urchin/util/urchin_daemons /etc/rc.d/init.d/urchin
# chmod 755 /etc/rc.d/init.d/urchin

once you have done that as i stated you can use

service urchin start
service urchin stop
service urchin status

is this what you are doing...?
 

interfasys

Verified User
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
2,099
Location
Switzerland
Now that I've slept a bit, I see things more clearly ;)

I already had a:
/usr/local/urchin/bin/urchinctl start
in
/etc/rc.d/rc.local

and I didn't want to mess my current install, so I bypassed the last steps.

I've added the -e in rc.local and I should be fine unless you tell me that having a urchin script in /etc/rc.d/init.d/ will improve my life (it will be easier to start/stop/restart, but is that it?).
 

ProWebUK

Verified User
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
2,326
Location
UK
interfasys said:
Now that I've slept a bit, I see things more clearly ;)

I already had a:
/usr/local/urchin/bin/urchinctl start
in
/etc/rc.d/rc.local

and I didn't want to mess my current install, so I bypassed the last steps.

I've added the -e in rc.local and I should be fine unless you tell me that having a urchin script in /etc/rc.d/init.d/ will improve my life (it will be easier to start/stop/restart, but is that it?).
If you had a previous install, you should have simply run the installation in upgrade mode and then continued as normal. I have upgraded many servers from 4 > 5 with currently 100% success in both maintaining accounts passwords and statistics :D

Chris
 

interfasys

Verified User
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
2,099
Location
Switzerland
I had urchin5 installed for me when ordering the server and I think it's part of what's managed on my server, so I don't want to mess it up too much. I'm willing to change rc.local if there is a real advantage though.
 

ProWebUK

Verified User
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
2,326
Location
UK
If its part of your management get it done through your provider! if its included with your management you should be running urchin 5101 and if not they should at minimum upgrade upon request.

If you have 5000 you can still upgrade to 5101, i have also run this upgrade as many times as i have run the 4>5 upgrades both upgrades are incredibly easy and quick - you keep your previous configuration etc just need the new binary etc and thats it.

Chris
 

interfasys

Verified User
Joined
Oct 31, 2003
Messages
2,099
Location
Switzerland
Yes I have version 5101. I only read this thread because I needed to turn on ssl.

Now I've learned a thing or two =)
 

ProWebUK

Verified User
Joined
Jun 9, 2003
Messages
2,326
Location
UK
interfasys said:
Yes I have version 5101. I only read this thread because I needed to turn on ssl.

Now I've learned a thing or two =)
pico -w /etc/rc.d/init.d/urchin

scroll down to line 35, you should see this:

"$INSTALLDIR/bin/urchinctl" start

Replace it with:

"$INSTALLDIR/bin/urchinctl" -e start


:D

Thats just doing the same thing another way around!

Chris
 
Top